Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

No phone service

New Poster

No phone service

I moved the router and all all other connections (phone) from my basement up to the living room. Currently have DSL, and TV working fine, phones not working.  Can't call out or receive calls. Have reset system still not getting any phone service.  Service call may be required at this point.

Cable Expert

Re: No phone service

What do the LED's on the eMTA show?  Did you plug in a known good wired phone directly to the eMTA's L1/L2 jack and test it?

Are you sure your have a signal on the coax line to the eMTA's new location?

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

New Poster

I hooked up a good phone directly to the box and I do have a dial tone. The phone system is working if I plug it directly into the box.  Could there be a bad coaxle wire somewhere?

Cable Expert

You are having issues backfeeding the line voltage from the eMTA back into your inside wiring in the house.

Normally, a phone cord is connected from the eMTA's L1/L2 jack to a phone jack in the room.  That jack would have to be wired up to the rest of the inside wiring and jacks in the home to activate all the jacks in the home.