New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Gateway Tel1 & Tel2

Contributor

Gateway Tel1 & Tel2

CT8305C

I"m using TEL1 . I don't see any info on TEL2.

Can Tel2 be used ??

I have an old telehone system that I would like to use in rooms I seldom am in.

It would be convient to be able to use this old system when I happen to be in these rooms.

Could it work on Tel2 . I tried it and i does not seem to work. My newer phone is a dect and the older system is pre-dect .

Could this be the problem ?? 

Connection Expert

Re: Gateway Tel1 & Tel2

I think that you would have to be paying Comcast for a second line for the tel2 jack to be active.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Networking Expert

Tel1 and Tel2 are for seperate lines. You can pay for and have two Comcast phone lines provisioned with different phone numbers.

If you want to use two cordless phone systems, you could still do that from a single phone port, but you would have to split the line using a phone splitter, and plug each base station into one side of the split line.