Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Add another line

Frequent Visitor

Add another line

Hello.  I'm new to the "cabe company offering me phone service" thing.  In the past, when I had traditional phone service, I knew how to run another phone line from my telephone box into, for example, the basement and install a new phone outlet.  How do I do this with comcast phone service?  Once again, I'm finishing the basement and need another line down there.Thanks!
Regular Contributor

Re: Add another line

You do the same as you have been doing.  The way the cable phone/ CDV works is you plug in a phone cord from the eMTA (modem) to a wall jack.  Then that will allow all other jacks in the house to work and act like a regular phone line does.

The only other thing that happens is when CDV gets installed they unplug the phone line from the test jack on the NID.  The NID is the box on the side/back of a house where the copper comes into the house.  Unplug that and CDV works like I stated above don't unplug that and none of the jacks will work.  CDV tech will do that for you.
Frequent Visitor

Thanks for the response.  I understand the concept, but I guess I'm still a little confused about the actual installation.  I went out to the NID box, and hooked up a new phone line as I have done in the past...meaning hooking in the red and green wires.  When I listen in on the phone extension, I hear an echo, like its connected.  But I don't get a dial tone.  So I'm guessing I am hooking into the "phone company" line,  not the cable line.  What am I doing wrong?  Thanks.
Regular Contributor