Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,431,196

members

26

online now

1,659,403

discussions

"Hidden Network"

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-28-2011
Posts: 19
Message 1 of 11 (24,814 Views)

"Hidden Network"

What is the "hidden network" in my list of wifi hotspots? It's on the same channel (11) as my home wifi and shows a full strength connection.  I have the "Performance" package with the Arris TG862.  I know it's not the xfinity wifi hotspot because I disabled that.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎05-26-2006
Posts: 11
Message 2 of 11 (31,191 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

I just recently installed the same router from Comcast. Out of three laptops, one of them sees a "hidden" or "unknown" WiFi broadcast in addition to the SSID I created. It is an older Vista laptop, where the others are newer. So perhaps it is an anomaly on the receiving end?

By the way, I'm having trouble getting this laptop to successfully connect to the WiFi too. It says it connects, but then does not have Internet access. I tried picking and naming the unknown one, but that doesn't seem to work any better.

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎05-26-2006
Posts: 11
Message 2 of 11 (31,192 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

I just recently installed the same router from Comcast. Out of three laptops, one of them sees a "hidden" or "unknown" WiFi broadcast in addition to the SSID I created. It is an older Vista laptop, where the others are newer. So perhaps it is an anomaly on the receiving end?

By the way, I'm having trouble getting this laptop to successfully connect to the WiFi too. It says it connects, but then does not have Internet access. I tried picking and naming the unknown one, but that doesn't seem to work any better.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎08-22-2007
Posts: 23
Message 3 of 11 (24,747 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

Remember. you have neighbors and they may have WIFI too.

Hidden may be either a AP named "hidden" or one with a supressed SSID broadcast.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,384
Message 4 of 11 (24,745 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"


splungeworthy wrote:

What is the "hidden network" in my list of wifi hotspots? It's on the same channel (11) as my home wifi and shows a full strength connection.  I have the "Performance" package with the Arris TG862.  I know it's not the xfinity wifi hotspot because I disabled that.


Does it go away if you unplug your 862 from the power source ?

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.

Member Since: ‎05-26-2006
Posts: 11
Message 5 of 11 (24,731 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

Yes. It is definitely an anomaly of this TG862 router when combined with whatever WiFi card is in this laptop (with Vista).  I'm not necessarily saying the router is the fault; but it is some combination that causes this to appear. I don't remember, but it may not have occurred until I enabled the b/g/n mode on the router. Since this laptop was having trouble connecting and the router is configured only g/n to start, I decided perhaps the 'b' mode might be necessary. It didn't help, but I did not go back to the router to disable that.

 

By the way, in my case I'm less concerned about the ghost network versus my inablity to get this Vista laptop to connect correctly. I have several other devices that connected without issue, but I've messed with this one for hours to no avail.

 

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-07-2013 02:34 PM

Frequent Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-28-2011
Posts: 19
Message 6 of 11 (24,654 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

[ Edited ]

Does it go away if you unplug your 862 from the power source ?

 

Didn't think of that-I'll let you know.  I highly doubt it's a neighbor with "Hidden Network" as their wifi name-why would it show a full strength connection? All of the other hotspots I see have 1 or less bars.  This is a Windows 8 computer.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-07-2013
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 11 (24,627 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

I am also showing a "hidden network" on my windows 8 laptop.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-11-2011
Posts: 22
Message 8 of 11 (24,334 Views)
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-07-2008
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 11 (20,478 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

Just to let you all know, it's an unconfigurable Home Security wireless band that happens to always remain hidden, always match the band you are using, always use the same channel you use for wi-fi, and ALWAYS have either the same signal strength or even HIGHER! This effectively CRIPPLES the wi-fi module that comes with any All-In-One.

 

Solution? GET A WIRED GATEWAY, connect an external WIRELESS ROUTER, problem solved. Comcast, tsk-tsk. >=\

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,384
Message 10 of 11 (20,439 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"


Warfist wrote:

 

Solution? GET A WIRED GATEWAY, connect an external WIRELESS ROUTER, problem solved. Comcast, tsk-tsk. >=\


Get a plain vanilla *cable modem* (or an *eMTA* if you have their phone service), and use your own high quality router with it. ;-)

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-03-2006
Posts: 2
Message 11 of 11 (20,363 Views)

Re: "Hidden Network"

I also just noticed a Hidden Network. After readig the posts, am I correct that Comcast is telling me to get a modem that is not provided by Comcast. I see no solutions to get rid of the Hidden Networt?? I also have another called Lemon Party.

 

The Hidden Network comes and goes, several times w/i a minute??

 

What's the bottom line? Do I get rid of the one I'm renting from Comcast, or what??