Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,382,945

members

51

online now

1,613,766

discussions

how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-05-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 10 (45,602 Views)

how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

I would like to set the CC modem/router to bridge mode and understand only someone at Comcast can do that.  However, I called and was told that CC cannot do that, and to just connect my other router to the back of the CC unit!!!

 

Can somebody help me with this?

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS
Posted by
Edited on
‎08-19-2015 09:41 AM

Official Employee

Member Since: ‎05-05-2015
Posts: 38
Message 10 of 10 (2,424 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

[ Edited ]

Depending on the type of device you have, bridge mode can be enabled within the admin tool. To learn more about making changes to your bridge mode setting, please visit this Help & Support article: Enable or Disable Bridge Mode on a Wireless Gateway.

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎09-05-2011 05:37 PM

Security Expert

Member Since: ‎11-01-2005
Posts: 3,022
Message 2 of 10 (45,596 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

[ Edited ]

Comcast certainly can and does put the SMC modem into bridging mode for customers.

 

 From an older thread....

 

   "The request to put the router in bridge mode takes Comcast about 3 seconds to do. The correct number to call to have it done is 800-363-2416 and ask anyone who answers to do this."



"Once I talked to the inmates of an insane asylum in Hartford. I have talked to idiots a thousand times, but only once to the insane..."
Mark Twain

Microsoft MVP, Consumer Security, 2005-2015
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,238
Message 3 of 10 (45,226 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎11-01-2005
Posts: 3,022
Message 4 of 10 (45,582 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

Thanks for the info. At least you better than a "Comcast can't do that!" answer.



"Once I talked to the inmates of an insane asylum in Hartford. I have talked to idiots a thousand times, but only once to the insane..."
Mark Twain

Microsoft MVP, Consumer Security, 2005-2015
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎09-29-2011
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 10 (45,275 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

ComcastLarry placed my new SMC in bridge mode.  I send a private message [PM] through this forum to him and he enabled it within a couple hours.  The WiFi signal on the SMCD3GNV is awful.  Bridge mode enabled me to connect my Cisco E3000 router and my wireless signal is much better. Phone still works too.  bridging does not disable the digital phone service. Thank you ComcastLarry1.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 49,759
Message 6 of 10 (45,273 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router


waterman308 wrote:

 

this unit, which includes telephony, will loose the tele function if it is bridged. 


Some CAE's don't know what they are talking about as usual...

Posted by
Regular Contributor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • On your way! Congrats on Posting 10 topics!

Member Since: ‎07-09-2009
Posts: 109
Message 7 of 10 (45,245 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

If you have a twitter account you can send a tweet to @comcastcares and a tech will reply back.

 

They're very fast, and Comcast can bridge a modem and still use CDV service. 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 49,759
Message 8 of 10 (37,166 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 49,759
Message 9 of 10 (37,164 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

Year old thread closed.

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-19-2015 09:41 AM

Official Employee

Member Since: ‎05-05-2015
Posts: 38
Message 10 of 10 (2,425 Views)

Re: how to set xfinity smc modem/router to bridge mode for using separate wifi router

[ Edited ]

Depending on the type of device you have, bridge mode can be enabled within the admin tool. To learn more about making changes to your bridge mode setting, please visit this Help & Support article: Enable or Disable Bridge Mode on a Wireless Gateway.

-->