Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,440,888

members

29

online now

1,668,695

discussions

arris tm822

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2010
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 8 (4,472 Views)

arris tm822

i hooked up the new arris tm822 and all lights are green but the link lightwhich flashes amber can anyone tell me why

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,561
Message 2 of 8 (4,745 Views)

Re: arris tm822

It just means that whatever you are connected to by ethernet, has a 10/100 ethernet connection. When connected to a 10/100/1000, in other words a GB connection it will flash green.

 

It won't effect your internet speed, unless you are on the extreme 105 tier or higher.

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,561
Message 2 of 8 (4,746 Views)

Re: arris tm822

It just means that whatever you are connected to by ethernet, has a 10/100 ethernet connection. When connected to a 10/100/1000, in other words a GB connection it will flash green.

 

It won't effect your internet speed, unless you are on the extreme 105 tier or higher.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-26-2010
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 8 (4,417 Views)

Re: arris tm822

thank you!

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎10-10-2012
Posts: 102
Message 4 of 8 (4,354 Views)

Re: arris tm822

If you have anymore issue or question please repost if not it is great appreciated if you mark as solution on the post that help you resolve your issue.

Thank you

Comcastmattv
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,385
Message 5 of 8 (4,349 Views)

Re: arris tm822

Is that really an "issue" ?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-28-2013
Posts: 4
Message 6 of 8 (3,696 Views)

Re: arris tm822

I would have expected the Comcast people @ the 1-800 number to have explained why the LINK light flashes when connected to my Linksys WRT160N router... thank you...

 

Can you answer this question??? Would it be advisable to update my router to a Gigabit to match the Comcast provided TM822???

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎10-03-2003
Posts: 5,378
Message 7 of 8 (3,689 Views)

Re: arris tm822

If you are not seeing any issues with your current router, and you are not on the 105 Mb speed tier, then there is probably no reason to upgrade your router. The router and modem will negotiate the correct link speed between them.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I don't work for Comcast...


Help us to help you!!
- respond to requests for info
- post back if your issue is resolved
- mark appropriate posts as solutions
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-28-2013
Posts: 4
Message 8 of 8 (3,680 Views)

Re: arris tm822

Thanks for that information, you provided answers that I have not seen in other posts.

 

Next question? Now I have this Gigabit modem connected to my aging PC through my WRT160N router, the bandwidth is still 100M, so why do website seem to use more of my 2G RAM than before installing the Gigabit modem?