Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,122

members

8

online now

1,689,990

discussions

How do I set up my fax machine?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-01-2009
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (3,320 Views)

How do I set up my fax machine?

I have a lexmark x125 all in one printer. Do I need to get a extra number from comcast for my fax? If not how do I set up my Fax machine to my existing number?
4 REPLIES
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 2 of 5 (3,314 Views)

Re: How do I set up my fax machine?

It's up to you whether you want a seperate fax phone number or not.  But hooking up the fax is simple, just run a phone line from your wall outlet to your fax machine.  I assume you're asking because you have Comcast Digital Voice.  There's nothing special you need to do, anything you can connect to a regular phone line you can connect to the phone line provided by your EMTA.
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-22-2010
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 5 (3,139 Views)

Re: How do I set up my fax machine?

Having comcast digital voice, you do not use a 'wall outlet', it goes through a modem. I sure hope you do not work for comcast.

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 4 of 5 (3,134 Views)

Re: How do I set up my fax machine?

Considering that most home wall phone outlets all lead back to a common point where the E-MTA is usually placed, this will work just fine in most setups.  And you're right I don't work for Comcast, if I did my name would be in RED.

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-31-2011 11:27 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,230
Message 5 of 5 (3,133 Views)

Re: How do I set up my fax machine?

[ Edited ]

I think it is you who has misunderstood Baric's post. And FWIW this is a two year old thread that you have revived.

 

Older thread locked.