Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,429,224

members

24

online now

1,657,466

discussions

Disable Wifi

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-18-2012
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 21 (28,265 Views)

Disable Wifi

I need to disable Wifi on my Comcast router. There is no option to do this when i login to the router. Can someone help me with this?

20 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-18-2012 10:32 AM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 73
Message 2 of 21 (28,264 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

you need to go to the advanced page in 192.168.100.1 use password of the day and o into MSO features

 

 

-CS

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 3 of 21 (28,256 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

What is the exact make and model number of the Comcast device ?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-18-2012
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 21 (28,232 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

It is an ARRIS TG 862

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-15-2012 06:08 PM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 73
Message 5 of 21 (28,225 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

 

 

-CS

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 6 of 21 (28,220 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

Unfortunately the general public doesn't learn anything using that method. That's not what a public help forum is all about.. My $.02.

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-15-2012 06:08 PM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 73
Message 7 of 21 (28,211 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

Well lucky me I have more than .02 cents. Some information is just not ment to get out to the public 

-CS

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 8 of 21 (28,208 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

You must be a current employee if you feel that this topic is in any way "proprietary"....

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-15-2012 06:09 PM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 73
Message 9 of 21 (28,204 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

No not an employee 

 

-CS

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-18-2012 04:07 PM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,944
Message 10 of 21 (28,180 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

shuck1 wrote:

No not an employee but i do have my hand in the mix

 

-CS


Dee, one needs to be very careful about working out issues via private message.

 

shuck1 might have his "hand in the mix" but that does not guarantee he knows what he is talking about.

 

By keeping everything out in the open if there is anything incorrect someone else can refute the incorrect statements.  This makes it less likely for things to go wrong when trying things to fix issues.

 

Here in the forum people prove themselves by providing information that will benefit not only you but others.

 

*side note* Comcast employees must be approved by the forum administrators before they can post in the forum. Employees will have their names in RED. If someone claiming to be an employee asks for personal information/account details and that someone does not have his/her name in RED ignore the request.  There is no way to be sure the person is indeed an employee.



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Edited on
‎05-15-2012 06:09 PM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-13-2012
Posts: 73
Message 11 of 21 (28,168 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

[ Edited ]

Very well your loss then, Smiley Wink

 

 

-CS

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,944
Message 12 of 21 (28,154 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

The decision is up to Dee. I just presented the downside to doing it via private message.



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,242
Message 13 of 21 (28,121 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi


shuck1 wrote:

Well lucky me I have more than .02 cents. Some information is just not ment to get out to the public so If Dee wants help than they will respond to me in private 

 

-CS


Other than her password, what about this process should not be public?

 

And what do you mean by "have a hand in the mix"? You seem to be intentionally evasive about this.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-20-2012
Posts: 1
Message 14 of 21 (28,112 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

Hello Group,

 

I also need information on how to disable the Wifi on Arris TC862.

 

Please either post or send me a Private Message.

 

The Reason? 

 

I dont want to subject my family to this strong WiFi signal all night long as we sleep (especially when nobody is utilizing the wiFi). 

 

It is well documented that leaving WiFi on 24/7 is a waste of electricity and not good for the human brain. 

 

I wish this router had a button on the outside (like my old NETGEAR router did) that disables the WiFi

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎11-02-2003
Posts: 2,846
Message 15 of 21 (28,094 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

Next stop.......the "Twilight Zone"!!!!

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,238
Message 16 of 21 (28,077 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi


FC-32 wrote:

Hello Group,

 

I also need information on how to disable the Wifi on Arris TC862.

 

Please either post or send me a Private Message.

 

The Reason? 

 

I dont want to subject my family to this strong WiFi signal all night long as we sleep (especially when nobody is utilizing the wiFi). 

 

It is well documented that leaving WiFi on 24/7 is a waste of electricity and not good for the human brain. 

 

I wish this router had a button on the outside (like my old NETGEAR router did) that disables the WiFi


Okey dokey.  Whaetver your reasons (questionable or not), you cannot disable the wifi on the TG862 gateway yourself.  Comcast in their infinite wisdom has chosen not to provide access to that function in their very crappy firmware. So you have three choices.

 

1. Unplug the gateway at night.

2. Have it placed in bridge mode (which disables the router and wireless functions) by the support folks at 800-363-2416 and use your own wireless router where you CAN turn off the wifi as desired.

3. Get rid of the gateway and replace with a cable modem/ETMA and your own wireless router as in #2.

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-21-2013
Posts: 1
Message 17 of 21 (23,012 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

Please elaborate.  How do I determine the password of the day?  When I go to the advanced tab,

http://192.168.100.1/cgi-bin/adv_pwd_cgi

I get the error

NET-DK/1.0 Error: 401 Unauthorized

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-02-2010
Posts: 1
Message 18 of 21 (22,730 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

For one to log into ARRIS TG 862 you need to login at 10.0.0.1. user name is admin and the password should be password. Two to diasble wirelss you must call comcast tech support, they are the only ones that can turn of the wifi.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-04-2013
Posts: 5
Message 19 of 21 (11,131 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

your answer makes no sense

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-04-2013
Posts: 5
Message 20 of 21 (11,128 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

if you flass that paterick and pick a pack -a-loomis reconfigure your atomic energy storage and convert it into a zeenar diode with the capacity series, minus  celcios zero you should be able to disable your wifi, these are simple and easy instructions. thank you

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 21 of 21 (11,091 Views)

Re: Disable Wifi

Two year old topic closed.