Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,430,139

members

32

online now

1,658,335

discussions

D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 13 (1,739 Views)

D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Hello,

 

I have a D-Link DI-514 wireless router and am unable to get any internet access with it.

 

After going through the setup wizard and rebooting, the router can't seem to obtain an ip address for the WAN, it just stays at 0.0.0.0. When I try to get a new IP I receive a timeout error.

 

The modem works fine when I connect it directly to my computer.

I have tried rebooting both the modem and the router with no luck.

I have tried cloning the MAC address of my laptop to the router with no luck.

 

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

 

 

12 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:25 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 2 of 13 (1,730 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 3 of 13 (1,720 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 4 of 13 (1,719 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Thanks for the suggestions but the router still can't obtain an IP from Comcast.

 

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 5 of 13 (1,718 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

I don't have the wireless enabled. Right now I am only connecting through a network cable. Would this encryption issue till be a problem?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 6 of 13 (1,712 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎03-15-2011
Posts: 4
Message 7 of 13 (1,706 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

I just moved, and Comcast has a 4-8 week delay on their wireless routers, so I found the DI-514 in my closet.

 

This is my first time using Comcast Internet.

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:26 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 8 of 13 (1,703 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:27 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 9 of 13 (1,694 Views)

edit

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-15-2011 05:09 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 10 of 13 (1,690 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

[ Edited ]

Depress and hold in the recessed reset button on the rear for 30 seconds, then release. Any joy ?

 

Do you happen to have a telephony type modem with a built in backup battery ?

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-11-2011 07:27 PM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 11 of 13 (1,680 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

[ Edited ]

edit

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 12 of 13 (1,676 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

This is a public forum, anyone can join the festivities dude !

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,440
Message 13 of 13 (1,666 Views)

Re: D-Link DI-514 can't get an ip address for WAN

Well, either the modem is not resetting completely and there fore not recognizing the MAC adddress of the router or the router is not requesting an IP addres.

Sometines a modem will refuse to reset until all cables are removed Power, Coax and ethernet.

and of Course the backup battery if one is installed

 

Not familiar with DLink but there should be a wau to browse in and go to the tab that controls the public ip address.

There should be a public iP address and Public address for the default gateway..  You need to do a Release and renew in order to get the router to pull the new public ip address through the modem.