Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3
Accepted Solution

Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Modem/router is only a few weeks old, was able to login several times using defaults of admin ID and password PS, now get authentication failure. Did a power cycle and a less than 15 sec reset, did not fix, did not change password ??

Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,127

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Try clearing the browser cache, if no good, try a factory reset. (Hold the reset button in over 15 seconds), you will lose any settings in the router. If that fails call the tech's at 800 363 2416 Let us know how it goes, thanks...
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Cleared the browser cache, no change, not sure what settings I will loose doing a major reset ( phone settings etc..).

Posted by
Networking Expert



Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,238

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

A reset to default should not bother your phones, other than when the gateway is temporarily unavailable while the reset is happening.  It will, however, remove ALL of your router specific setttings.

 

If you still have a problem after the reset or don't want to do it yourself, call the folks at 800-363-2416.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.



Member Since: ‎09-21-2012
Posts: 3

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Did a ~ 1 minute reset, problem fixed, also fixed wireless connection problems.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎08-14-2013
Posts: 1

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

I called Comcast "tech support" 4 times for an ip issue they set in their modem, Arris tg862g, and they repeatdly tried sending me to their signature service and pay $15 to fix the issue. After a lot of research, I found your post on the 1 minute reset that no one in Comcast tech support knows about and it worked perfectly. Thank you! You got rid of my headache and saved me some money.

Posted by
Connection Expert



Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 47,756

Re: Cannot login to ARRIS TG862 .

Year old marked solved thread now closed.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments