Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,467,176

members

34

online now

1,692,026

discussions

Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-26-2012
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 5 (58,264 Views)

Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

I just got hooked up for Comcast internet service and I'm trying to set up my arris wireless cable modem for secure wifi and such.  I tried entering my modem's IP address from the connection details (yes, I have internet connection, but not secure), and I entered 192.168.100.1 for an IP address.  I tried in both Internet Explorer and Firefox.  All I get is a message that either there's a problem loading the page or the connection timed out.  I'm running WinXP.

 

Can someone help me out?

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,756
Message 2 of 5 (58,263 Views)

Re: Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

Is http://10.0.0.1 any good?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎09-26-2012
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 5 (58,254 Views)

Re: Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

Nope, same problem.

Posted by
Edited on
‎09-26-2012 08:47 PM

Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,756
Message 4 of 5 (58,242 Views)

Re: Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

[ Edited ]

How about http://192.168.0.1/

 

Should really be http://10.0.0.1 are you connected by wireless? Did you look at the bottom of the device for the SSID name and the network key? You could be connecting to a neighbors wireless....

 

Here's the manual http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/internet/broadband-gateways-userguides

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-05-2012
Posts: 7
Message 5 of 5 (57,868 Views)

Re: Arris Cable Modem - Can't Configure

Open the command window , type ipconfig and hit enter...


Use the ip address of the "default gateway". That should take you to the login page of your router.