Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,466,995

members

2

online now

1,691,877

discussions

ARRIS TG862

SOLVED
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-17-2012
Posts: 178
Message 1 of 13 (134,221 Views)

ARRIS TG862

Comcast internet & phone installed today. I want to use my own security key but I can't connect via 192.168.0.1 to get to setup. Any ideas?

12 REPLIES
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-17-2012
Posts: 178
Message 2 of 13 (140,637 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Nevedrmind. I found it here.... http://10.0.0.1.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-21-2012
Posts: 9
Message 3 of 13 (134,070 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

What's the admin u/n and p/w?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,291
Message 4 of 13 (134,064 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

"admin" & "password".

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎11-06-2006
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 13 (133,424 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Do you know how to change you r IP through this?

 

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 6 of 13 (133,419 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862


lsteven15 wrote:

Do you know how to change you r IP through this?

 


Short answer: You can't, not reliably.  You can unplug gateway and disconnect the coax for upwards of 7 days, but there's no guarantee you won't get the same IP address again when you reconnect.

 

Long answer:  This gateway is very short on features and had many "issues".  This is one, you have no control of the gateway's WAN MAC address that's exposed to the modem function, hence you have no way to force an IP change.  Of course, there's no reason to do this (legitimate anyway), so it's no big deal.  If you want you can have the gateway put into bridge mode (call 800-363-2416) and get your own router.  I recommend this anyway for many other reasons since these gateways are pure junk, but since your new router has a different WAN MAC address, the side effect is that you get a new IP address.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-24-2012
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 13 (133,404 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Thanks for your answer. Of course we all have our own reasons. So, what is the diference between adding a router and changing the MAC on the PC?

 

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 8 of 13 (133,380 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Changing the PC's MAC address is meaningless unless THAT is the MAC exposed directly to the cable modem.  Comcast assigns IP addresses to exposed MAC addresses, so different MAC addresses get different IP's.  The same MAC is usually assigned the same IP address each and every time, which is why your IP address stays the same for long periods of time even though techinically it's dynamic and each lease only lasts at most 7 days.  Unless your exposed MAC address changes (ie the WAN interface on your router), you almost always get the same IP address.  And the MAC addresses of all interfaces BEHIND the router are meaningless in this process as they are hidden behind the router's NAT layer.

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,240
Message 9 of 13 (133,288 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Different issue entirely, breaking out into a new thread...

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-05-2012
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 13 (125,892 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

how do I find my routers' username and password to access it?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,291
Message 11 of 13 (120,242 Views)
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,291
Message 12 of 13 (96,543 Views)
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,291
Message 13 of 13 (96,542 Views)

Re: ARRIS TG862

Year old thread closed.