Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,832

members

8

online now

1,703,223

discussions

Setup VOIP via Comcast

SOLVED
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 1 of 11 (2,988 Views)

Setup VOIP via Comcast

Hi guys,

 

 

This is my first time to post on the forums.

 

I hope I am on the right thread/category.

 

 

Just a quick question:

 

1. Is Comcast compatible with VOIP?

 

2. If yes, how do we setup VOIP from the scratch?

 

I tried searching around for the answer but no avail.

 

 

 

 

Thanks a lot!

 

 

From me and my friend.

 

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 2 of 11 (2,986 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Yes, Comcast is compatible with VOIP services like Vonage and Skype. Just follow the instructions of whatever service you sign up with.
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 3 of 11 (2,977 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you for the response, Barmar.

 

Using CDV (Comcast Digital Voice), would also work?

 

 

or is it only available for VOIP enabled phones?

 

 

Thanks!

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 4 of 11 (2,975 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Cdv works nicely with Corded phones and Cordless phone systems.

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,247
Message 5 of 11 (3,428 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

CDV provides an ordinary phone jack on the modem, and you either plug a phone into it or connect it to your home's phone wiring. As far as you're concerned, it's just like ordinary phone service. It uses VOIP on the network, but it's just an implementation detail that's transparent to customers.
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-16-2010
Posts: 28
Message 6 of 11 (2,972 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Thank you JMCS and Barmar!

 

I am enlightened!

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-02-2009
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 11 (2,705 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Is VOIP via Comcast possible with Xlite

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 8 of 11 (2,695 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

I think so

can yougooogle "x-lite  comcast" for discussions on your issue?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2
Message 9 of 11 (2,609 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

 
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-02-2011
Posts: 2
Message 10 of 11 (2,608 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast

Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 11 of 11 (2,586 Views)

Re: Setup VOIP via Comcast


2netsolution wrote:
Any answers on the 1st post question - VOIP via Comcast? Any compatible Linux. free PBX?
Any info?

Yes, if you google or bing x-lite comcast and hit enter there is alot of information there.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program