Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,599,441

members

53

online now

1,783,003

discussions

Back to Top

Pulse vs. Tone

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-17-2008
Posts: 4
Message 1 of 8 (1,740 Views)

Pulse vs. Tone

Why does my phone only work in "Pulse" mode. It is a Uniden DECT 6.0.

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎06-14-2011 07:05 PM

Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,749
Message 2 of 8 (1,738 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

[ Edited ]

The tone generator on the phone might be off frequecy enough for the DTMF receiver not to decode the tones, or the tones might be too short for the receiver to detect them.

 

Cheap phones frequently fail.

 

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-17-2008
Posts: 4
Message 3 of 8 (1,735 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

So I guess you are saying I have a cheap phone? What about a Panasonic KX-TG2740? Is that a cheap one also? What phone do you recommend?

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,749
Message 4 of 8 (1,732 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

All new phones that are built in China by 3rd party factories are garbage compared to the old days where phones were dependable and well constructed.  It doesn't matter who the manufacture is.  Cheap electronics fail often.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,488
Message 5 of 8 (1,718 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone


FEMA_Dude wrote:

Why does my phone only work in "Pulse" mode. It is a Uniden DECT 6.0.


Are you saying you switched it from tone to pulse to get it to work?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-17-2008
Posts: 4
Message 6 of 8 (1,715 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

Yes. I tried two different phones and neither one worked in "Tone" mode.  I had a dial tone but they neither phone would dial out. When I switched the phones to "Pulse" mode they both were able to dial out. I thought maybe the modem needed to be switched from Pulse to Tone but I don't think that is the case. I guess I will keep buying phones until I find one that works and return the rest.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,749
Message 7 of 8 (1,712 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

I missed the part about two phones.  First you should pickup a cheap wired phone at a big box store for $6 and give it a good test. 

 

If it fails, then it can be escalated to the Comcast Cares Team and the tech will determine if it's the eMTA or farther up in the system.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-17-2008
Posts: 4
Message 8 of 8 (1,702 Views)

Re: Pulse vs. Tone

It failed the wired phone test. Still get a dial tone but doesn't dial out. Once I get home from work I will contact comcast so they can fix it.