Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,514,024

members

7

online now

1,714,723

discussions

Back to Top

No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎10-01-2008
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 11 (2,891 Views)

No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

I recently switched to Comcast Voice, and since the switch, my Uniden Power Max 5.8 GHz 2-line phones do not indicate I have a voicemail waiting with a blinking indicator light.

10 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,739
Message 2 of 11 (2,889 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Do you have the studder tone when there is a VM waiting?




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-01-2012
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 11 (2,826 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

I have the same problem... and the same phone.  To respond to the other question about the tone... I do not receive a tone either (frustrating).

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-08-2012
Posts: 14
Message 4 of 11 (2,624 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Same problem here. No blinking light indicating new message or stuttering tone.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-23-2008
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 11 (2,150 Views)

Flashing light for new email

The voicemail indicator on my phone does not flash when I have Comcast voicemail. It works fine when the phone has picked up the call. The voicemail handbook says: "If your phone has a message-waiting indicator light, it will be lit when someone leaves a message." Why doesn't it work?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-23-2008
Posts: 2
Message 6 of 11 (2,146 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Same problem here.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-08-2012
Posts: 14
Message 7 of 11 (2,142 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Thanks for your reply. A gateway reboot fied the problem. Smiley Happy

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 4
Message 8 of 11 (2,138 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

I misspoke when I said I had the same problem. I do get the stuttering dial tone, but not the blinking light.

 

What is a gateway?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎10-08-2012
Posts: 14
Message 9 of 11 (2,135 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

The router. Your phone line is plugged into it. If you want to restart the router/gateway, you can log into it by entering 10.0.0.1 in your browser and enter username admin and password as password. on the left menu go to Troubeshooting > Reset/Reboot Gateway, select Reset Gateway at the top right. Atfter the router reboots and your internet is working, call your Home phone from another phone and leave a message. This will wiork if you have the Arris Wireless Router/Gateway. Smiley Happy

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎05-29-2008
Posts: 4
Message 10 of 11 (2,127 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

I tried to get to the modem by using the URL, but it didn't work. Maybe I had the syntax wrong. In any case, I rebooted it using a paper clip in the reset hole. Still didn't get a flashing light. Thanks for the try.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-18-2013
Posts: 1
Message 11 of 11 (1,995 Views)

Re: No blinking light to indicate VoiceMail

Yes, have studder tone.  Also when making a call the beep beep sounds however there is not a new message.  New voicemail remains showing on phones.  thank you