Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,515,377

members

21

online now

1,715,924

discussions

Back to Top

Call Screening really don't work?

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-20-2003
Posts: 420
Message 1 of 17 (9,641 Views)

Call Screening really don't work?

I entered a number in "call screening" about a week ago to block Financial Credit calls to the previous tenant who had left the apt complex over 7 years ago.

 

Still got a call today.  My setting for Comcast answering is 4 rings & my phone's answerer answers after 2 rings.  The caller-id say the number was the same.

 

Now, is the Comcast's call screening working AFTER the 4th ring?  & not when Comcast know the number after the 1st ring but before the 2nd ring?  If such is the case, the Comcast "call screening" is worthless as the incompetent programmers.

 

I will set my phone answerer for 3 rings to see if the Comcast "call screening" is still ignored.

 

 

16 REPLIES
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-05-2008
Posts: 7
Message 2 of 17 (9,591 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Hi,

 

Call screening only screens 10 numbers at a time so you have to remove numbers after the 10th to put in a new one. 800 numbers are tricky because one company can have 10 different outgoing lines all under the same number. The thing that got me personally was making sure it was all on and not off. Once I found that was the problem. Good Luck!

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-25-2009
Posts: 4
Message 3 of 17 (9,528 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Same problem for me - number is listed in screened calls list and I still get calls from same number. Does anyone at Comcast read this ? Do they ever reply ?

 

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-20-2003
Posts: 420
Message 4 of 17 (9,458 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

There is only ONE (1) number & that is for Financial Credit.

 

Or there is a bug in the call screening....

 

The "moderators" claim that this is only a user-to-user forum even if Comcast says to go to the forums for help on the Comcast answering "service".  Comcast isn't really interested in helping via their forums & sometimes not even the "chat" as one can wait over 10 min.

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-05-2012
Posts: 127
Message 5 of 17 (9,429 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Hello 

 

When you place a number in the list, try placing it with the 11 and the 10 digits as some times numbers come in with the one in the area code and without it also etc..(xxx-xxx-xxxx and 1-xxx-xxx-xxxx). Try that and let me know if you still receive the calls from that number.

 

Thank you

ComcastVic.

Thank you
Comcast Vic.
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-28-2012
Posts: 2
Message 6 of 17 (9,425 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Tried to add 11 and it refuses to take 11 digits. It will only accept 10 digit input for the phone number so now what?

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-05-2012
Posts: 127
Message 7 of 17 (9,423 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Mienja, please end me your phone number on a private msg, I will look into this for you.

Thank you
Comcast Vic.
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎02-23-2009
Posts: 110
Message 8 of 17 (9,400 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

I have only ever set up call screening via the telephone by dialing *60, not over the web. As a previous poster stated in addition to adding or removing numbers you also have to press one to turn the service on or off. Perhaps some variation of this problem is what is occuring here.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-28-2012
Posts: 2
Message 9 of 17 (9,381 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

I put it in as a 10 digit and it seems to recognize that so far! Smiley Wink

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-20-2003
Posts: 420
Message 10 of 17 (9,187 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Looks like it does work; just had to wait a few days as I went back to check & didn't see anything else I should check.  Haven't received calls from Financial Credit that I'm aware of.

 

Just a question out of curiousity, does Comcast respond with a msg without ringing my phone or does Comcast just disconnect?  If it is a msg, can we use explicitives of our choice in the msg?

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-25-2009
Posts: 4
Message 11 of 17 (9,180 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

The on-screen input window cotrols the number of digits it accepts. I haven't got a call from the same number, have had calls from same company using different number. If Comcast could also screen caller names, it may help with some calls. Thx.

 

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-25-2009
Posts: 3
Message 12 of 17 (8,627 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

I put a number on the call screen list but it doesn't seem to be working.  I am still getting calls from third party collectors who need to provide written proof of the debt (which they never do).  You cannot get rid of these rodents through the do not call registry so how can I get this feature to work.

 

Thank you.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-25-2009
Posts: 4
Message 13 of 17 (8,551 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Has 'Voice Manager' been discontinued ? I can no longer find it or the list of numbers I've entered.

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-05-2012
Posts: 127
Message 14 of 17 (8,422 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

thedf- Please check your inbox, I would like you to send me more details about this.
Thank you
Comcast Vic.
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎10-04-2012
Posts: 1
Message 15 of 17 (7,612 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

Call Screening does not work anymore. Looks like Comcast changed the user interface and broke something. I currently have 12 numbers on my Call Screen list for one of my two Comcast phones (the fact that the limit is only 12 is another major matter). I am getting daily calls from a fradulent "volunteer" organization. I want to add their number to my list by (unfortunately) having to delete one of my existing spammer numbers. Clicking on "Screen Calls" yields "Working" for a very long time and then this cute error message "You may only specify up to 12 numbers from which to screen calls". I KNOW that. I called Comcast Tech Support and the guy couldn't even get past "Working". I tried both a Mac and a Windows/XP PC's. So I give up. I expect to be spammed daily by the fradulent organization until Comcast fixes their issue.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎07-09-2009
Posts: 1
Message 16 of 17 (7,154 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

"Call Screening" on my web page has only one option, "Screen Anonymous Calls", there is no way to enter specific phone numbers. How do you get to enter your 12 specific phone numbers, I want to do this too. Thanks.

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎12-20-2003
Posts: 420
Message 17 of 17 (6,989 Views)

Re: Call Screening really don't work?

not really "off topic" as I want to know when postings are deleted from the topics.  I see that a couple of my postings as well as other people posts have been deleted.

 

It looks like this forum is only allowing the display of a single page (1) & no more?  It is not in the "help guidelines".