Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Migrating Comcast email account to outside account

New Poster

Migrating Comcast email account to outside account

Although I have been using Comcast web based email since it was launched many years ago, I am moving to a new location that does not have Comcast service and am therefore cancelling my XFinity internet service (and do not have a voice service).  The FAQ says as long as the account was active 90 days before cancellation, and remains active thereafter (every 9 months), the web based email account will remain active.  Although I may end up moving back into an area serviced by Comcast, I have a concern about losing stored emails and attachments, and changing all my various accounts over to a new email outside of Comcast.

1. Is there any way to mass mail stored emails to another account outside of Comcast, including attachments?

2. Will all open email accounts remain open provided they are active?  I have several accounts.

3. Can I forward incoming emails to an outside account (I believe I used this before but turned it off to avoid duplicates)?

Thanks!

Email Expert

Re: Migrating Comcast email account to outside account

All you really need to do is enable the accounts in a desktop email client like Outlook, Thunderbird, Apple Mail or something like that.  That way the messages are both on your computer and on the Comcast server.  The ability to keep Comcast email accounts just went into use 6 days ago.  It has been a long time coming.  Make sure you keep signing into the accounts periodically.  I use Google calendar, and in your situation I would set up a permanent reminder to sign in to the account periodically so you don't forget.