Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Macs and Comcast

Macs and Comcast

I am new to Macs, my sister gave my daughter her laptop that has MAC OS 9 on it. Can it be configured to Comcast?

Thanks....
Networking Expert

Re: Macs and Comcast

What model number is it? (There should be a program on it called System Profiler that can be run and it will tell you more than you want to know.) In any event, an ethernet cable or a wireless card can connect you via a router to share your Comcast modem. sam

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark it as a solution!solution Icon

Mac Expert

Yep. Just make sure that in the Apple Menu/Control Panel/TCP-IP, it is Configured using DHCP and Connect via Built-in Ethernet. If you connect it to the modem in place of another machine currently connected, you'll need to power-cycle the modem so the laptop can get an internet connection. AS was mentioned, connecting multiple machines to your modem will require a router or internet sharing via one of the machines.

Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.

Community Icon

Community Icon