Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,170

members

57

online now

1,716,753

discussions

Back to Top

Firefox browser keeps saying "The Connection was reset"

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-17-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 4 (3,032 Views)

Firefox browser keeps saying "The Connection was reset"

So for the past few days, my Firefox browser has been very slow most of the day and so many times when i try to load a page, I get a message saying,"The connection was reset. The connection to the server was reset while the page was loading." Also it goes to say," file "shell.css" is required in your "sscommon/sking/comcast/css/" directory. Check skin name in your config file, or reinstall application. If anyone can please put this into english for me and tell me what i need to do, I will be most grateful. I'm tired of sites not pulling up at times and sites just timing out.

3 REPLIES
Posted by
Mac Expert

Member Since: ‎12-01-2003
Posts: 5,829
Message 2 of 4 (3,002 Views)

Re: Firefox browser keeps saying "The Connection was reset"

Does this happen on every site you visit, or only on (a) certain site(s)? The one example you give sounds like one site is being problematic (slow server, style sheet not loading).

Posted by
Edited on
‎04-22-2010 01:00 AM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-07-2007
Posts: 135
Message 3 of 4 (2,987 Views)

Re: Firefox browser keeps saying "The Connection was reset"

[ Edited ]

You may try loading Fx in safe mode. If it works correctly in safe mode, then that may mean that you have an extension that's causing issues. I'm not sure what all safe mode does other than not loading extensions (I think).

 

I was going to insert a picture, but when I click on "browse" and choose my desktop, it doesn't show any pictures. The png file is sitting on my desktop. Strange

 

Anyway, just go into your start menu, ALL PROGRAMS and look for MOZILLA FIREFOX and then click on MOZILLA FIREFOX (SAFE MODE).

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎03-10-2004
Posts: 6,888
Message 4 of 4 (2,982 Views)

Re: Firefox browser keeps saying "The Connection was reset"

 


Ignotus wrote:

I was going to insert a picture, but when I click on "browse" and choose my desktop, it doesn't show any pictures. The png file is sitting on my desktop. Strange

 


Yeah, right now there is an issue with that function which Comcast has been made aware of.

 

JR