Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,495,469

members

49

online now

1,702,377

discussions

Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-24-2007
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 5 (4,024 Views)

Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

I just swapped my DOCSIS 2 Cable modem for a DOCSIS 3 - SMCD3GNV. I don't need the built in wireless. My D-Link 655 works just fine. Can I disable or turn off the wireless on the Comcast cable modem?

Thanks

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-01-2012
Posts: 26
Message 2 of 5 (4,014 Views)

Re: Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

can't be done from the customer side of things, but if you phone it in to comcast and ask them to put the modem in "bridge mode," that should take care of it. that will turn off the internal wifi.

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-04-2012 06:24 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,648
Message 3 of 5 (4,012 Views)

Re: Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

[ Edited ]

It should be put in to bridge anyway otherwise you would be daisy chaining two routing devices and introducing a double NAT condition on your home network which is not ideal.

 

Use this number to reach the right people for the job; 1-800-363-2416. Calling during regular weekday business hours may be best.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-24-2007
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 5 (4,003 Views)

Re: Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

Thanks everyone for the info. I'll call on Monday.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,648
Message 5 of 5 (4,001 Views)

Re: Don't need the WIFI built into the router. Can I turn it off?

Good luck with it ! You will be much happier using your own high quality router instead of using the router component in these combo gateway devices !!




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program