Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,415

members

91

online now

1,717,082

discussions

Back to Top

DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-30-2012
Posts: 11
Message 1 of 12 (41,936 Views)

DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

Which Docsis 3.0 modems does Comcast have for leasing?

 

If so, do they have a list of the modems they have for lease?

11 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎06-30-2012 07:21 AM

Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 2 of 12 (41,917 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

[ Edited ]

delete

Posted by
Edited on
‎06-30-2012 08:22 AM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 3 of 12 (41,905 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

[ Edited ]

http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/      <<< these are the approved modems check box for docsis 3

 

           X  Show only the latest models (DOCSIS 3.0 and above)

 

 

 

     Stay away from the combo gateway devices modem&wireless . Best to get modem and seperate wireless router .

 

 

           Make sure  you get one in list . Now when they offer you one , you can compare against list .

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,299
Message 4 of 12 (41,892 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

You need to be aware that you will get whatever the local office has in stock.

 

It is not outside the realm of possibility that they don't have any DOCSIS 3 modems in stock.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 52,190
Message 5 of 12 (41,888 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

Most of the time it comes down to whatever the tech has on the truck. However If you have the Blast speedtier they should supply you with a D3 compliant modem. If you have Extreme you require one.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 6 of 12 (41,873 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

 Side note ,

 

                       Rather then paying comcast 8$ a month you could always purchase your own modem provided its not a emta , those are only available in some markets  .

 

 

                           80-125 $  for docsis 3 modems

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-30-2012
Posts: 11
Message 7 of 12 (41,870 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

@UHFhd   which one would you recommend me if I were to buy one?

 

I want a modem that could last me for years to come..

Highlighted
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 8 of 12 (42,136 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

 I see the experts here and at different site posting about a Zoom modem 8x4 docsis 3  for future proofing .

 

      

 

 

 

        http://www.amazon.com/Zoom-Docsis-Cable-Modem-5341-00-00J/dp/B0063K4NN6/ref=sr_1_9?ie=UTF8&qid=13210...      

 

 

      I myself am still using older motorola sb6120 its only 4x4         considering updating soon         

 

                      hope that helps

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-30-2012
Posts: 11
Message 9 of 12 (41,844 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

Thank you UHFhD!

 

I rather just buy a modem and save me $80-90 dollars a year ...

 

Looks like I'll be buying the zoom..

 

Thank you all for the help!

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-01-2012 10:00 AM

Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-06-2011
Posts: 1,571
Message 10 of 12 (41,825 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

[ Edited ]

Yw glad I could help .   Smiley Happy   

 

PS save your receipt for new modem and check your first bill from comcast to make sure there not charging you a rental fee for owned modem .

 

 Also you will need to call into comcast with MAC address of new modem and get it provisioned .

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-29-2012
Posts: 11
Message 11 of 12 (41,789 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

You might want to get 2 and keep one on the shelf.  It seems like when I've had one go out over the years it's almost always on a day when the stores are closed or after hours.  After the last time I just paid the extra money and decided to keep a spare on the shelf so I'm not scrambling to get my internet back.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-11-2012
Posts: 1
Message 12 of 12 (40,512 Views)

Re: DOCSIS 3.0 MODEMS

I finally found a manual for the Ubee D3.0 modems since Saveology does not send you one with the modem. I wanted to know what all the LED lights indicated, etc., and never got anywhere with them. Plus no installation disk was ever sent to me. So...I researched and found this link which is the manual for the modem. It's very helpful. Wish they'd just put it in with the modem from day one. Google the Ubee D3.0 cable modem manual and here's the one you want .The link will show Model #U10C035 in the header of the link It has a downloadable PDF document that's very clear. Hope all of you that have this modem use this. It will answer a lot of questions.