New to the Community? Start here.

members

online now

discussions

Comcast email

ANSWERED
Regular Visitor

Comcast email

I am getting really frustrated trying to read my email messages.  It is so slow it has taken me an hour and 15 minutes to open and read 14 messages  I keep getting a message "comcast.net is not responding due to a long running script".  When I click 'stop script' it re-boots my email

Accepted Solution

Re: Comcast email

I'm a programmer and know what's going on. The email website is using an extremely old and long-known-to-be bad-and-obsolete technique (synchronous XMLHttpRequest) which is now blocked by both Chrome and Firefox (potentially IE/Edge as well). They will need to either fix their terrible code to use asynchronous XHR or we'll have to work around it by tweaking advanced settings in our web browsers. To my joy, I now see it's impossible to read my communications from Comcast (Why even send it there? Why not let me give you a different email address for communication? Why would I want/use a Comcast email address?) without me setting up a separate email client.

Please fix this, Comcast. Again, fellow customers, this problem is on their end, not ours. I just want to save you a wait in a support queue.

View answer in context
Regular Visitor

Having the same problem. Have tried with both IE11 and Firefox and it appears to be a comcast problem. Any solution comcast?????

Silver Problem Solver

dscowden1 wrote:

Having the same problem. Have tried with both IE11 and Firefox and it appears to be a comcast problem. Any solution comcast?????

Hello,

See if this will help.

The run script error has nothing to do with your browser it is IE has a progran that when it goes to various websites and if the websites has various coding issues the error will pop up.This may also happen with other browsers.

What you can do is try the following steps:

1. Form the toolbar select tools

2. Choose 'Internet Options.'

3. Click on the 'Advanced' tab.