Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,056

members

44

online now

1,702,731

discussions

Comcast Home Page

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2010
Posts: 5
Message 1 of 17 (11,163 Views)

Comcast Home Page

I get an error message on the Comcast home page. The home page is the only page I get this error on. I also get no mail notification. See error below:

 

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.0; WOW64; Trident/4.0; GTB6.4; SLCC1; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; Media Center PC 5.0; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; InfoPath.2; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; OfficeLiveConnector.1.4; OfficeLivePatch.1.3)
Timestamp: Tue, 2 Mar 2010 00:35:08 UTC


Message: The data is invalid.

Line: 34
Char: 9846
Code: 0
URI: http://www.comcast.net/layout/js/compressed/home_beta.js?r=32065-12345


Message: The data is invalid.

Line: 34
Char: 10086
Code: 0
URI: http://www.comcast.net/layout/js/compressed/home_beta.js?r=32065-12345

 

16 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-12-2006
Posts: 752
Message 2 of 17 (11,145 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Are you using Firefox or something? Try Internet Explorer and see if you get that same message.
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2010
Posts: 5
Message 3 of 17 (11,143 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

No I'm using Internet Explorer 8. Went by the folks house the other day and my dads computer with the same browser is doing the same thing.
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎12-12-2006
Posts: 752
Message 4 of 17 (11,139 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

weird!!! the error message looks like your using Mozilla/4.0

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0

 

 

 

Highlighted
Posted by
Mac Expert

Member Since: ‎12-01-2003
Posts: 5,829
Message 5 of 17 (11,135 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

All versions of IE start off with Mozilla 4.0 in the user agent. It's a remnant from the early days of the browser wars. In order for IE to work on sites that were coded for Netscape 4, IE had to partially spoof itself so the site would serve the code to the browser. All other (modern) browsers use the Mozilla 5.0 identifier as this showed that they were using the rebuilt-from-scratch Gecko engine that started to take shape after NS 4 was abandoned and NS 5 never shipped, opting instead to wait for the 6.0 release (which even then was still only half-baked). Even today, because web developers don't do browser identification correctly (they sniff browser ID rather than rendering engine), there's a lot of spoofing that has to happen in the User Agent to make alternative browsers work. For instance, SeaMonkey and Camino are two Gecko browsers that use the exact same rendering engine as Firefox, but unless the put a "like-Firefox" string in the UA, most sites sniffing specifically for Firefox would serve these perfectly good browsers with an Update Browser page.
Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,199
Message 6 of 17 (11,129 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

I have been using Internet Explorer 8 since it was released.  Have you checked under Internet Options, 'Home Page' at the top to see if there more than one address is listed there?

 

You could also try the 'My Comcast' as your homepage, just to test.  The My Comcast homepage is a lite version of the Comcast homepage.  You can click on 'Customize Your Comcast.net experience' link from the regular homepage.  The link is directly below the Sign in box on the far right side.

(http://www.comcast.net/mycomcast/)  

This min-tour explains My Comcast, and how to get started using it: http://downloads.comcast.net/tutorial/mycomcast/

 See if that works for you, and post back the results.  I use it myself, and have a shortcut to it right on my desktop. I realize this doesn't solvve your problem of why you are unable to get to the regular homepage tho.  Hopefully someone else will be able to solve that problem for you.

CC

 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2010
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 17 (11,115 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Works just fine with the Comcast.net custom page. The only problem seem to be the regular Comcast.net page and only the front page at that. Seem to have something to do with the email link on that page. I'm unable to see if I have new email without actually going to the mailbox.
Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,199
Message 8 of 17 (11,221 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page


SubZer0 wrote:
Works just fine with the Comcast.net custom page. The only problem seem to be the regular Comcast.net page and only the front page at that. Seem to have something to do with the email link on that page. I'm unable to see if I have new email without actually going to the mailbox.

A bunch of questions for you:

1) Did you check under Internet Options to see if you have any other websites listed for your homepage other than www.comcast.net?

2) Clear your temporary Internet files & cookies?

3) IF you can see the www.comcast.net homepage, do you see the sign in/e-mail box on the far right side or not?

4) Can you please explain your thoughts on why you think it is the e-mail link itself on the regular homepage?

5) Is www.comcast.net listed here?  Internet options/Security tab/Trusted sites.

6) Do you have any Add-Ons or toolbars installed?

 

7) Which version of Smartzone are you using? Regular or Lite? 

 

While you have a work-around using MyComcast, I too, would like to get to the bottom of why you are having a problem with the regular Comcast.net homepage.

thanks for your time...

 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2010
Posts: 5
Message 9 of 17 (11,091 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Clearing the cash did it...........

Thank you

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,199
Message 10 of 17 (11,088 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Great!  Added bonus, now you can use either the regular homepage,or the MyComcast version, which ever you prefer.  I think the reason clearing the cache worked is because of the Smartzone cookies stored.  Once you cleared cache- viola! ( I probably should have told you to try that first,huh?

Do continue to clear cache on a regular basis. Have a good day.

Carole



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2010
Posts: 5
Message 11 of 17 (11,082 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Funny thing is I cleared it the other day and it didn't make any difference. Must have clicked on the button with a different finger this time. Smiley Wink
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎09-25-2003
Posts: 5,342
Message 12 of 17 (10,015 Views)
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎04-20-2009
Posts: 2
Message 13 of 17 (10,778 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

ALL you guys are so WONDERFUL & I can't not thank you enough. 

I'm working on my daughter's laptop now but my desktop & my notebook is still SICK!!!

I'll will communicate with you guys N a few minutes.

 

Thanks, Valencia

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-01-2010
Posts: 1
Message 14 of 17 (10,698 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

After comcast home page downloads, it gives a "error on page" at the lower left corner, just above start button. How can I fix this . 

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎11-10-2003
Posts: 5,499
Message 15 of 17 (10,696 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page


dmonroe6319 wrote:

After comcast home page downloads, it gives a "error on page" at the lower left corner, just above start button. How can I fix this . 


Page errors like that are not uncommon, and not something you can attempt to fix.  Could be a coding error made by Comcast's portal team, or something else.  Not generally something you need to be concerned about.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎05-17-2007
Posts: 1
Message 16 of 17 (10,252 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

                how do i make comcast additional home page?

Posted by
Edited on
‎11-20-2010 12:42 PM

Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,199
Message 17 of 17 (10,248 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

[ Edited ]

 


sandyconn wrote:

                how do i make comcast additional home page?


 

Which browser do you use please? If Internet Explorer:  Tools>Internet Options> Homepage (at the top)

If Firefox;  Tools>Options> General tab

 

You could also make a shortcut on your desktop. 


 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.