Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,430,240

members

19

online now

1,658,397

discussions

comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-09-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 37 (10,579 Views)

comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

    I thought it might be a virus as it is just happening on my laptop. The comcast homepage won't load. I've run numerous virus scans with Norton as well as Ad -aware, but nothing helps. This is the only web page that won't load

36 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎06-09-2010 06:33 PM

Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 2 of 37 (10,577 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]


Do you use Smartzone's full version, or the Lite?  If the full version, see if you can get into the light version following these steps:  Also, have you cleared you cache?  If not, do that first. 

From here- at the top of the page, click on th Email icon.

CC

 

What you can do is while you are on the loading screen, make a note of the URL - specifically, the beginning part. (For instance, my SmartZone URL is http://sz0004.wc.mail.comcast.net/zimbra/mail#1 - so the SZ e-mail server that I am assigned to is sz0004.wc).

Next, while you are stuck on the loading screen, key in the following URL that corresponds to the SZ server that you are assigned to:

 http://sz0004.wc.mail.comcast.net/zimbra/h/search (for example)

 You should just be able to backspace to the slash after the zimbra and type in the h/search.

 
This will get you into SmartZone Lite.    At this point, go to Preferences > General and set it to SZ Lite so you will always get into SmartZone Lite at logon.

 SmartZone Lite is an HTML-driven web app like the old Webmail was.   If you were able to get into the old Webmail system from work, you should be able to get into SZ Lite.   



Credit to JR for these directions.

Let us know if this helps you.



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Edited on
‎06-10-2010 12:07 AM

Mac Expert

Member Since: ‎12-01-2003
Posts: 5,829
Message 3 of 37 (10,566 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]

I believe the OP is saying that comcast.net won't load, which in turn won't allow access to the Email icon. Is this the problem? If so, can you tell us what web browser you are using, and if you have any tool bars or other add-ons installed? Have you tried with a different browser, or disabling toolbars, extensions or other add-ons?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-17-2007
Posts: 3
Message 4 of 37 (10,557 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I am unable to access my email account.  I am not having any problems accessing other sites.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-17-2007
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 37 (10,556 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

 
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎09-17-2007
Posts: 3
Message 6 of 37 (10,555 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

None of this means anything to me.  Please fix my email account!

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎10-20-2006
Posts: 21
Message 7 of 37 (10,549 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Hello, having the same problem on my wife's netbook. 

 

-Both IE8 and Google Chrome have the same behavior

-WinXP

-Works fine from a different XP desktop on the same network with same DNS settings

-flushed all cache

-flushed DNS

-tried with firewall disabled

 

type 'www.comcast.net' into the browser.  The address quickly "bounces" back and forth between www.comcast.net and login.comcast.net until eventually timing out with "the website cannot display the page".  address bar is this after it times out:

 

https://login.comcast.net/login?s=portal&ts=641cd027&continue=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.comcast.net%passive=1

 

 

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎10-20-2006
Posts: 21
Message 8 of 37 (10,545 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I have a workaround of sorts.  After the timeout, I backspaced over the "passive=1" at the end of that long url, removing it from the string.  I hit 'enter' and it brought up the login authorization page.  I typed in the username and password, and was able to get in to comcast.net.  I then clicked on the mail icon and it took me into smartzone email just fine. 

 

I imagine this will be a problem again.  It is something comcast needs to address. 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-30-2009
Posts: 1
Message 9 of 37 (10,531 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

when I try to log in for my E-mail the hour glass blinks rapidly and nothing happens

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 10 of 37 (10,518 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

If you are already signed in, a couple of things to try.  Click on the email icon on the top of the page.  Type in smartzone.comcast.net in the browser.  Does either one work?



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 11 of 37 (10,510 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I am notifying an Administrator of this thread.

jHobson34:  Please edit your post and remove the link to your company.  



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-03-2008
Posts: 1,757
Message 12 of 37 (10,505 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

We are aware of customers experiencing timeouts, latency, error 500 and login issues with Comcast.net.

 

There is no ETR at this time.

George Lunski
"Retired" Comcast Help Forums Administrator
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-23-2010
Posts: 1
Message 13 of 37 (10,490 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

How do I acces my email?

Posted by
Edited on
‎06-10-2010 04:47 PM

Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 14 of 37 (10,483 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]

Assuming you are using Smartzone, and assuming you don't have the issue mentioned in the announcement at the top of this forum:

 


frandipr wrote:

How do I acces my email?


 

Have you first, cleared you cache?

There are a number of ways to get to Smartzone.  If you are already signed in, you can click on the Email icon at the top of this page in the upper right hand corner.


From the Comcast homepage (www.comcast.net) Scroll to the far right where you signed in, and click on the email icon envelope there:

While signed in, type in smartzone.comcast.net in the browser address bar & click on Enter.

 

If none of these work, you are signed in, then most likely you are expereincing the problem that the Announcement is referencing. 


We are aware of customers experiencing timeouts, latency, error 500 and login issues with Comcast.net. There is no ETR at this time.

Discussion may be found here.

Post back if we can help you further.



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-05-2010
Posts: 1
Message 15 of 37 (10,449 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I can't log in to Comcast.net what is the problem I also cant go into my email

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎03-11-2004
Posts: 4,278
Message 16 of 37 (10,435 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in


ComcastGeorge wrote:

We are aware of customers experiencing timeouts, latency, error 500 and login issues with Comcast.net.

 

There is no ETR at this time.


And yet when you go to NETWORK HEALTH,

 http://online.comcast.net/networkhealth/outagecheck.aspx

 you see a "green machine"???   Why doesn't that page reflect any outages??

.

ciao, bj

Posted by
Problem Solver
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Communication is Key. Way to go, keep it up. Congrats on 100 Replies!

Member Since: ‎02-26-2009
Posts: 549
Message 17 of 37 (10,406 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

When clearing cache and cookies, if you are using IE8 make sure that you are also unchecking the section that says something along the lines of saving data for favorite websites, then hitting delete. 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎03-25-2008
Posts: 2
Message 18 of 37 (10,393 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

This behaviour only occurs with Google Chrome for me.....all other browsers load comcast.net flawlessly. These symptoms are consistent on two different computers. 

 

fyi...other browsers means Opera, Firefox, IE8, and Safari (all most current versions)

 

I can't wait to find out what this could be...

Posted by
Problem Solver
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Communication is Key. Way to go, keep it up. Congrats on 100 Replies!

Member Since: ‎02-26-2009
Posts: 549
Message 19 of 37 (10,391 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Did you clear the cookies and cache out of chrome? 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎03-25-2008
Posts: 2
Message 20 of 37 (10,376 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Clearing cache and cookies did work in chrome.....

 

I'm still not sure how to explain how two different computers, therefore two different caches and cookie sets, both started with this login problem on the same day?

 

Somehow doesn't make sense...why would every other browser be error-free, and only comcast.net site experiencing the problem, and only in Google Chrome? In every case, any other website would load without problem. Why only Comcast??

 

Anyway, thanks for the help. Would love to be able to wrap my head around it, though.

Posted by
Edited on
‎06-11-2010 09:41 PM

Mac Expert

Member Since: ‎12-01-2003
Posts: 5,829
Message 21 of 37 (10,299 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]

It would be nice if people with different issues would start new threads instead of just jumping into existing threads. Going back to the original post, I'm wondering if this isn't actually a bookmark issue? When bookmarking comcast.net, it is important to make sure you are actually ONLY bookmarking the URL http://www.comcast.net If you use a browser's ability to "bookmark current page," you end up with a an additional string that in the future can not only change but can cause the kinds of hang-ups being described. By altering the URL being accessed, it allowed free access to the desired page.

 

This also applies to choosing your desired homepage.

Posted by
Edited on
‎06-12-2010 09:49 AM

Contributor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎01-19-2009
Posts: 31
Message 22 of 37 (10,288 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]

Having the same problem with it bouncing between the two pages sites (never waited long enough to see if it woulld time out). I ended having to search for the comcast forums & when I clicked on that link, it took me to the sign in page & after that I was able to access comcast.net

 

This was on IE8 - it worked fine on firefox.

Posted by
Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 23 of 37 (10,273 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I had the problem too, but its fixed;  Here's what I did on the Windows Machine.  I cleared the browsing history;  I disabled the Silverlight add-on  and it worked.

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎09-25-2003
Posts: 5,342
Message 24 of 37 (10,246 Views)

Re: Comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in


Xoanan wrote:

I had the problem too, but its fixed;  Here's what I did on the Windows Machine.  I cleared the browsing history;  I disabled the Silverlight add-on  and it worked.


I'd say that the "browser history clear" and the "SilverLight add-on disabling" were unrelated to the resolution of  this problem.  See the following post extract:

Re: Comcast home page flashing


ecsmith wrote:

I'm having the same problem as the guy with firefox, but I'm using Internet Explorer.  Address bar just flashes web address over and over will not pull up home page.


I too saw this behavior yesterday (06-11-2010) using IE8 in XP SP3 to access SmartZone.  My work-around then was to logon to these forums and then navigate to SmartZone; this worked immediately. The problem does not occur today.

 

I lay the blame on a now fixed temporary defect in the SmartZone redirect stream and not my local environment.  


Signature: 127.0.0.1, Sweet 127.0.0.1 and I recommend all of these Anti-malware tools and Procedures. (updated May 2010)
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎09-25-2003
Posts: 5,342
Message 25 of 37 (10,234 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Posted by
Edited on
‎06-13-2010 02:12 PM

Valued Contributor

Member Since: ‎03-18-2004
Posts: 821
Message 26 of 37 (10,234 Views)

Re: Comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

[ Edited ]

Hmm.. interesting...

 

Thanx!

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-13-2010
Posts: 2
Message 27 of 37 (10,223 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Having the same issue on one of my lap tops. comcast.net will load but unable to sign onto email.

 

Using IE 8 and Windows Vista Home Premium.

 

Strange thing is, it loads on old lap top that uses IE 8 and Vista also.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎06-13-2010
Posts: 2
Message 28 of 37 (10,219 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Also noticed it only happens on Comcast secure url links when logging onto email.

 

Just also noticed when comcast.net would try loading using a secure url, would not load properly

 

This has been going on for over a week now and is very frustrating.

 

Also called local Comcast number and no help

Posted by
Customer Expert

Member Since: ‎11-14-2006
Posts: 6,439
Message 29 of 37 (10,213 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I know that there are recurring issues here and you may be running into that, but be sure that you try ...


- clear the Comcast cookies in your browser

- clear your browser cache

- try a different browser

- use http://www.comcast.net to get to the Comcast front page

 

I'm not convinced that everyone posting in this thread is having the same problem.

 

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
Member Since: ‎08-24-2003
Posts: 18
Message 30 of 37 (10,161 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

I had this same problem and found that on mine it was caused by a microsoft update. i deleted it and all is good.

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎03-10-2004
Posts: 6,888
Message 31 of 37 (10,159 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

 


dodgeum wrote:

I had this same problem and found that on mine it was caused by a microsoft update. i deleted it and all is good.


 

Do you know what update it was???

 

JR

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-02-2008
Posts: 1
Message 32 of 37 (10,134 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

The same thing is happening on my computer...is it a comcast problem and where do we go for help!!

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎09-25-2003
Posts: 5,342
Message 33 of 37 (10,115 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

CCCarole suggests this work-around:

 

When the address bar is flickering hit stop and freeze the address; check and see if you have an "=1" at the end of the URL. If you do, delete just the "=1" and hit the Enter key. 

 

CWH803 suggests this work-around:

 

A work around that has worked for me when I see this problem is to start my IE8 browser, navigate to these forums using http://forums.comcast.net/comcastsupport/board?board.id=13, which will optionally re-direct through the Comcast logon function, and then click the E-mail icon that appears at the top right of every Forum page.


Signature: 127.0.0.1, Sweet 127.0.0.1 and I recommend all of these Anti-malware tools and Procedures. (updated May 2010)
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 34 of 37 (10,112 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Other suggestions:


Clear cache first.


If using IE8, in Internet Options, uncheck the top box which says, "Preserve Favorites Websites' and click OK


In the browser address bar, type in smartzone.comcast.net then enter.




Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎10-15-2011
Posts: 1
Message 35 of 37 (9,526 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Hi,

Since Thursday, I have been unable to log in on Outlook Express for my comcast email page.  My user name comes up, but the computer won't allow me to put password in. 

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-04-2006
Posts: 5
Message 36 of 37 (8,958 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in

Bybass your router and login to your modem directly. 

Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,224
Message 37 of 37 (4,106 Views)

Re: comcast page won't load properly,so I can't log in