Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-20-2012
Posts: 2

Setting up outlook 2010

I have am trying to set up outlook 2010 for my default client and I have followed the instructions to the "t" it shows invalid password and wont complete the set-up, Although when i went to internet explorer i found that it did properly send the test e-mails any ideas?

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎01-20-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

this is one of two messages i received

Log onto incoming mail server (POP3): The operation timed out waiting for a response from the receiving (POP) server. If you continue to receive this message, contact your server administrator or Internet service provider (ISP).

 

and

Send test e-mail message: Your e-mail server rejected your login. Verify your user name and password for this account in Account Settings.

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

My initial suspicion is your firewall is blocking the POP3 port. Try changing the incoming port to 995 with SSL enabled.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎04-09-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

Hello,

 

I have found a solution for this issue.  Go to account settings and run a repair.  Let outlook search for the POP3/SMTP settings.  Oddly it discovered 995 for the incoming POP3 and checked SSL using TLS.  So make sure SSL is checked and TLS is the following encryption type.  Of course what comcast has on their site for configuring Outlook 2010 has nothing to do with these three changes.

 

Hope this helps!

 

Comcast, please update your documentation, thank you!

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

Port 110 should work fine, Comcast doesn't block it. If it's not working, there's a problem at your end.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎04-09-2012
Posts: 2

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

Yes I agree, cause it works on Outlook 2007 with 110.  So it must be an Outlook 2010 thing.

 

Thanks!

Posted by
Email Expert



Member Since: ‎04-27-2004
Posts: 18,241

Re: Setting up outlook 2010

Check your firewall, maybe it's only allowing Outlook 2007 to use port 110, but not Outlook 2010.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments