Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,466,629

members

9

online now

1,691,523

discussions

Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-29-2011
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 7 (42,210 Views)

Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

Droid Charge is requesting "Domain" to set up Comcast email

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎02-22-2007
Posts: 6,247
Message 2 of 7 (42,208 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

Hello,

Try this settings

 

Comcast's email servers are POP3, the server name is mail.comcast.net.  You can use port 110 for plaintext email, or 995 with SSL for encrypted email (recommended).

 

For sending mail, the server smtp.comcast.net.  You can use port 25, 465, or 587.  With 587, you must have authentication, and I would recommend TLS (may be referred to simply as SSL as with many clients).

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-29-2011
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 7 (42,204 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

when setting up an email account, like comcast email on my droid, it uses an exchange server.  They ask for the "Domain", Username, Password and exchange server.  It dose not ask for POP3 server or which port to use.  That is why I am asking what the Domain would be for Comcast email's exchange server settings.

 

Thank you,

RFD3

Posted by
Bronze Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-12-2006
Posts: 3,364
Message 4 of 7 (42,172 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge


RFD3 wrote:

when setting up an email account, like comcast email on my droid, it uses an exchange server.  They ask for the "Domain", Username, Password and exchange server.  It dose not ask for POP3 server or which port to use.  That is why I am asking what the Domain would be for Comcast email's exchange server settings.

 

Thank you,

RFD3


Comcast don't have Exchange servers (or IMAP servers), they have POP3 servers. I'm not familiar with Droids, but it sounds like you need to delete what you've done so far and start over, and tell the Droid that you want to set up a POP3 account

Posted by
Official Employee

Member Since: ‎03-17-2008
Posts: 909
Message 5 of 7 (42,152 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

RFD3,

The Charge allows you to setup POP3, IMAP or Exchange email accounts.  You want to select POP3.  The server setting are exactly what Steve posted.  You'll also want ot set the port to 587 and enter your login credentials.

 

Hope that helps.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎08-16-2012
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 7 (22,857 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

Hi.

I recently had my password changed on my comcast acct and it stopped syncing. I am not sure how I did it originally, but I could not find a way to fix the comcast acct and get it to sync.  So, I installed the Xfinity App to view my emails there.  At least it worked.

NF

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-26-2013
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 7 (19,572 Views)

Re: Setting up Comcast email on Android Charge

Have not been able to reset my Charge Email - Was working fine for 2 years.

 

What is the correct Domain Name

What is exchange server 

 

Post given are not working - please advise