Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,382,569

members

101

online now

1,613,433

discussions

power cycle my modem

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-23-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 7 (10,448 Views)

power cycle my modem

how do i power cycle my modem

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-08-2010 10:23 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438
Message 2 of 7 (10,447 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

[ Edited ]

haroldjennings wrote:

how do i power cycle my modem


Pull the power cord out of the back so that it has no power for a short period and then plug the power cord back in.

If you have one of those modems that has a battery for backup, you will have to depress the Reset button until the lights go out.  The reset button is usually in a small hole on the back of the modem and needs a toothpick or paper clip to reach in to depress it,  Some ballpoint pens will work as well.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎11-08-2010
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 7 (10,355 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438
Message 4 of 7 (10,352 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

Thanks for the editorial assist.

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 49,747
Message 5 of 7 (10,347 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem


w2id wrote:

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?


Was  a trolling smack really necessary here ?? Especially in a six month old thread ???

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎04-29-2013
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 7 (7,231 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

How big of a hoe is she? Anything over 300 lbs doesn't work for me.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438
Message 7 of 7 (7,220 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

Two year old thread locked

-->