Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,360

members

38

online now

1,690,214

discussions

power cycle my modem

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-23-2010
Posts: 1
Message 7 of 7 (10,568 Views)

power cycle my modem

how do i power cycle my modem

6 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 1 of 7 (7,340 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

Two year old thread locked

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-29-2013
Posts: 1
Message 2 of 7 (7,351 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

How big of a hoe is she? Anything over 300 lbs doesn't work for me.
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,236
Message 3 of 7 (10,467 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem


w2id wrote:

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?


Was  a trolling smack really necessary here ?? Especially in a six month old thread ???

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 4 of 7 (10,472 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

Thanks for the editorial assist.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-08-2010
Posts: 1
Message 5 of 7 (10,475 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?

Posted by
Edited on
‎11-08-2010 10:23 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 6 of 7 (10,567 Views)

Re: power cycle my modem

[ Edited ]

haroldjennings wrote:

how do i power cycle my modem


Pull the power cord out of the back so that it has no power for a short period and then plug the power cord back in.

If you have one of those modems that has a battery for backup, you will have to depress the Reset button until the lights go out.  The reset button is usually in a small hole on the back of the modem and needs a toothpick or paper clip to reach in to depress it,  Some ballpoint pens will work as well.