Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎05-23-2010
Posts: 1

power cycle my modem

how do i power cycle my modem

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: power cycle my modem

[ Edited ]

haroldjennings wrote:

how do i power cycle my modem


Pull the power cord out of the back so that it has no power for a short period and then plug the power cord back in.

If you have one of those modems that has a battery for backup, you will have to depress the Reset button until the lights go out.  The reset button is usually in a small hole on the back of the modem and needs a toothpick or paper clip to reach in to depress it,  Some ballpoint pens will work as well.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎11-08-2010
Posts: 1

Re: power cycle my modem

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: power cycle my modem

Thanks for the editorial assist.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 47,314

Re: power cycle my modem


w2id wrote:

I can't find the small hoe on the back of my modem, but I was able to find a large hoe out in my toolshed. Will that work?


Was  a trolling smack really necessary here ?? Especially in a six month old thread ??? rolleyes.gif

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎04-29-2013
Posts: 1

Re: power cycle my modem

How big of a hoe is she? Anything over 300 lbs doesn't work for me.
Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: power cycle my modem

Two year old thread locked

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments