Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,108

members

22

online now

1,689,983

discussions

Comcast Home Page

SOLVED
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-25-2007
Posts: 6
Message 24 of 24 (6,447 Views)

Comcast Home Page

Is there a way to make my Comcast Home Page show local news.  It shows local weather ok, and I've re entered my zip, and city multiple times. It always shows loading, but never loads.  It used to do this only once in a while, usually said invalid zip code, now it doesn't work at all.

23 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎09-20-2011
Posts: 1,561
Message 1 of 24 (4,701 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

 

Thank You
-Keisha-
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 2 of 24 (4,717 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

yyour issue has been escalated to a moderator.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎06-10-2006
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 24 (4,723 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

I have tried 2 different ones.  30214, 30269 besides 30215 where I live. Same results 

Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,441
Message 4 of 24 (4,732 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Might want to try a couple of other Zips from your side of town.
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎06-10-2006
Posts: 2
Message 5 of 24 (4,736 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

My Comcast.net home page shows the correct local weather, but the local news is from the opposite side of Atlanta.  I have emailed Comcast, but they choose not to reply.  I have tried some of the suggestions I have seen on various forums, but NO LUCK.  Comcast should let me remove that item from my homepage if they cannot provide correct information

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 6 of 24 (5,583 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

I notified the Administrator.  I tried Bing and google, both work.  I would use one of those until it is fixed.

 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 10
Message 7 of 24 (5,586 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

are they aware of it

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 8 of 24 (5,590 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

There is a problem with the Comcast (Google) search tonight.  Try using another search engine. (Google or Bing) It is not working for me either.

CC

 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-01-2010
Posts: 10
Message 9 of 24 (5,593 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

why cant a site come up when I push search. it tells me it cant find site. is there a problem.? i never had this problem before tonight.

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎09-09-2011
Posts: 1
Message 10 of 24 (5,618 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

this network is alsome

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 11 of 24 (6,436 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Thomas,

Are you up to date on Microsoft Updates and Service packs?  2)  Why not update to IE 8? 3) Have you tried the Firefox browser & does it behave the same way?

CC



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,145
Message 12 of 24 (6,353 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Thomas, could you PM me your zip code, if it doesn't work for me, then we know it's not anything on your system causing it.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 13 of 24 (6,369 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Thomas,

I have notified an Adminstrator to review this thread.  I am out of ideas- other than-

IF you still have toolbars installed, try disabling each one and see if that has any effect. 

Only other thing I can think of to check is to start IE without Add Ons and see what that does.  Click on Tools> Manage Add-Ons>Disable Add-Ons.

(I use IE 8 so a simply right click allows me to start IE without add-ons)

CC





Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-25-2007
Posts: 6
Message 14 of 24 (6,376 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

 Is www.comcast.net your regular homepage?  Yes

 

Which browser do you use?  It sure sounds like 'something' is blocking it...please post back the following & I will see if an Adminstrator can research this further for you.    IE 7.0

 

Any toolbars installed?  Which ones?       Tried Google/Comcast/Norton No change. 

Which Anti virus & firewall do you use?       NORTON From Comcast

Which operating system?  XP Home Edition

Have you ever set up MyComcast.net?   YES 

 

 

 

 

 

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 15 of 24 (6,387 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Thomas,

I understand what you mean.  See my printscreen below.  You will see that I do have that 'module' as well.

At the top of that module there is also an optiion to edit it.  When I click on 'edit' it requests my zipcode.

I understand that this particular module is not loading for you at all. 

I don't have a clue why it is not loading for you.  Is www.comcast.net your regular homepage?  Which browser do you use?  It sure sounds like 'something' is blocking it...please post back the following & I will see if an Adminstrator can research this further for you.

Browser & Version

Any toolbars installed?  Which ones?

Which Anti virus & firewall do you use?

Which operating system?

 

Have you ever set up MyComcast.net?  ( the customized homepage?)






Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-25-2007
Posts: 6
Message 16 of 24 (6,390 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

That part works fine, what I am refering to is from the top of the page scrolling down there are various topic headers with stories/pix/videos.  Todays Highlights is first.  Next is Top Videos.  Next is Watch TV Online.  Next is News-Stocks.  Next is Sports-Finance.  Next is Entertainment.  Next is Local News which stays blank with the message LOADING......  Next is Market Place.  Next is Games.  It is the empty spot  where a local news headline or two used to appear I am asking about.  What I see is about four inches of empty space with the header Local News at the top and the word loading in the middle.

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-16-2006
Posts: 1,130
Message 17 of 24 (6,394 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Carole, thanks.  I never saw that before.  Of course, I use iGoogle as my home page...

Posted by
Gold Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎05-21-2006
Posts: 30,272
Message 18 of 24 (6,402 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

 


thomascassel wrote:

Is there a way to make my Comcast Home Page show local news.  It shows local weather ok, and I've re entered my zip, and city multiple times. It always shows loading, but never loads.  It used to do this only once in a while, usually said invalid zip code, now it doesn't work at all.


 

Thomas,

On the left side of the Comcast homepage there is a column list... If you scroll down & click on Local you may get another window, which asks for your zipcode.  Enter your zipcode and click on Go.  You should now be redirected to your local news. Here is the link to what I see for my local news. LINK

Also at the top of this window there is a field to change your zipcode.  I just checked with both Firefox and Internet Explorer and both work for me.

Please post back your results.  CC


 



Need Email Help? Please post the following information in your post.
Do you use XfinityConnect? The Full or Lite version?
Do you use an email client? Which one? (Eg; Windows Live mail, Outlook, a smartphone etc.)
Which browser/version do you use? And- have you cleared your browser cache?
Which operating system? XP, Vista, Windows 7, Mac OS X
Details of the problem you are having.




Posted by
Edited on
‎04-22-2010 12:52 AM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎07-07-2007
Posts: 135
Message 19 of 24 (6,418 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

[ Edited ]

I use iGoogle for news and such. It's a customizable "portal" or "homepage". It has options for local news feeds. I do not know anything about Comcast's offering. Here's an example of what an iGoogle page looks like. I shrunk it a bit which made it largely unreadable. I'll post it as a link instead of inlining it since it's still a large picture.

http://img208.imageshack.us/img208/8378/igoogle.png

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-25-2007
Posts: 6
Message 20 of 24 (6,429 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Every time I leave the page, clear all temps and and cookies.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎08-04-2006
Posts: 8,312
Message 21 of 24 (6,432 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Have you cleared your cache recently?


***** ***** ***** ***** *****
I do NOT answer questions via Private Message. Please ask your questions in the open forums.
-- These are PUBLIC peer-to-peer Help and Support forums. As such, any personal information such as full name, address, telephone number, account number or email address can be viewed by anyone on the internet. Keep your identity safe and post only information related to your problem.
-- Official Comcast Employees names are in Red.
-- "Experts" are customers who volunteer their time in the Help forums.
-- Only Official Comcast Employees have access to your account information.
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-25-2007
Posts: 6
Message 22 of 24 (6,437 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

Thats where I'm talking about, always just shows loading.  Usually only two or three subjects there when it used to work.

Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎08-04-2006
Posts: 8,312
Message 23 of 24 (6,442 Views)

Re: Comcast Home Page

 


thomascassel wrote:

Is there a way to make my Comcast Home Page show local news.  It shows local weather ok, and I've re entered my zip, and city multiple times. It always shows loading, but never loads.  It used to do this only once in a while, usually said invalid zip code, now it doesn't work at all.


If I scroll WAY down on the homepage, I see local news for my zip code.  Outside of that, however, I don't see any way of localizing the homepage, and not even on the MyComcast page.

 

 


***** ***** ***** ***** *****
I do NOT answer questions via Private Message. Please ask your questions in the open forums.
-- These are PUBLIC peer-to-peer Help and Support forums. As such, any personal information such as full name, address, telephone number, account number or email address can be viewed by anyone on the internet. Keep your identity safe and post only information related to your problem.
-- Official Comcast Employees names are in Red.
-- "Experts" are customers who volunteer their time in the Help forums.
-- Only Official Comcast Employees have access to your account information.