Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,499,817

members

38

online now

1,705,022

discussions

Speed Channel

SOLVED
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-25-2005
Posts: 90
Message 1 of 28 (12,199 Views)

Speed Channel

My sister, in Monroe, NJ, has ComCast and receives the Speed channel on her TV without a cable box.  My condo in Arizona (Cox) also gets Speed channel without a box.  But, in Montgomery County Maryland, I need to purchase a sports package and have a cable box to get the Speed Channel.

 

 Why is Speed available in some markets without having to buy a package?

27 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 2 of 28 (12,320 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Each Comcast area determines its own packages.



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-25-2005
Posts: 90
Message 3 of 28 (12,188 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Thanks WarEagle
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎02-23-2011
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 28 (12,073 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Speed was available in 2010; now it's gone. How come?

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-01-2004
Posts: 5
Message 5 of 28 (12,071 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

I'll trade my free golf channel for Speed! 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-23-2011
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 28 (12,060 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Agree, it is all about the $, anyway to make a buck they will find a way.

We need to buy the sports package just to get our speed channel, one way for comcast to make an extra $60 off me every year just for SPEED channel :-(

FYI: Speed Channel is included on all of the AT&T packages

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎12-01-2004
Posts: 5
Message 7 of 28 (12,018 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

"FYI: Speed Channel is included on all of the AT&T packages" 

 

Yup, which is another reason I'm considering switching.

 

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-03-2011 03:49 PM

Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-03-2011
Posts: 1
Message 8 of 28 (11,964 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

[ Edited ]

WoW

 

NO Speed channel on my lineup Digital Preferred + package in IL???

 

AT&T offers Speed included in any package.

 

Formula 1 season is getting in few days guys...

Come on Comcast

 

I will trade Golf and NHL for Speed right now.

 

 

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-10-2007
Posts: 36
Message 9 of 28 (11,752 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Now that F1 races are really in HD, it certainly would be real nice to be able to watch them that way, especially since they are now letterboxing to show the program.

 

of course maybe comcast thinks people really only want to use 50% of their usable screen to watch the race.

 

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,726
Message 10 of 28 (11,748 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Pretty much everyone that has completed the digital transition with Motorola equipment and has received the additional HD channesl has Speed Channel in HD.

 

The area's that are not complete yet, like ex Adelphia, Insight and the Scientific Atlanta equipped area's are due to get the additional HD's this year.  The SA area's and much of the Insight area's are well underway to get the addl HD's soon.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-10-2007
Posts: 36
Message 11 of 28 (11,744 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

We've had the Mot set top boxes for quite a while, It's just not offered in our local lineup Smiley Sad

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,726
Message 12 of 28 (11,741 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Please share your location.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-10-2007
Posts: 36
Message 13 of 28 (11,737 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

bolton Mass

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,726
Message 14 of 28 (11,728 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

It looks like your system got the shaft since you have all the other WOM HD channels.  I've asked the Comcast admin for a official response.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎03-28-2011 08:44 AM

Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-11-2010
Posts: 8
Message 15 of 28 (11,704 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

[ Edited ]

Speed HD is missing from the vast majority of Comcast systems in New England, Im in southern New Hampshire and I would pay for the sports pack if they added Speed HD for the Formula 1 season.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-27-2011
Posts: 1
Message 16 of 28 (11,692 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

not offered in st lucie fla.either!

 

Posted by
Retired Administrator

Member Since: ‎07-01-2010
Posts: 2,486
Message 17 of 28 (11,670 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

 


boltonblue wrote:

Now that F1 races are really in HD, it certainly would be real nice to be able to watch them that way, especially since they are now letterboxing to show the program.

 

of course maybe comcast thinks people really only want to use 50% of their usable screen to watch the race.

 

 


Hi there - I will have someone look into this and get back to you.

 

Just 'Dete'
Retired Help Forums Admin
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-06-2007
Posts: 1
Message 18 of 28 (11,650 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Let me cast another vote for Speed HD ... in Lynchburg, VA. There are two sets of HD network channels (200's & 800's), so there must be room!

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 19 of 28 (11,645 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

 


dpritchett2450 wrote:

Let me cast another vote for Speed HD ... in Lynchburg, VA. There are two sets of HD network channels (200's & 800's), so there must be room!


A duplicate channel does not take up extra bandwidth -- the same frequency channel is simply mapped to two channel numbers by the box.

 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-10-2007
Posts: 36
Message 20 of 28 (11,601 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

You are correct that a true duplicate channel does not take any additional bandwidth. but standard programming and HD are not duplicates.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎12-31-2004
Posts: 10,676
Message 21 of 28 (11,588 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Obviously. 




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎04-09-2011
Posts: 1
Message 22 of 28 (11,498 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

I recently switched from Directv.  Comcast apparently knows that customers like Speed Channel.  In my local area, Speed Channel HD is listed in the Digital Preferred listing on the internet as a channel offered with Digital Preferred.  But in fact, it requires the sports package.  Even more annoying is that almost all of the other channels in sports package are non HD versions of ones that are in the Digital Preferred.   I really hate paying extra $$ each month for one channel that I was under the impression I was going to get.  

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎02-11-2010
Posts: 8
Message 23 of 28 (11,455 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Any official response yet as to why Speed HD is missing from all Comcast systems in New England? The 2nd F1 race of the season was yesterday, Formula One  Racing only has the largest television viewing audience in the world, and now that it's in HD, its time to add Speed HD Comcast. You want to call yourself a leader in Sports, and have a separate Sports package then how about including some HD channels in that package?

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎06-28-2011
Posts: 3
Message 24 of 28 (10,904 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

When I called Comcast they told me they have no plans to add Speed HD in my area (Massachusetts).  They added a ton of HD programming last year but not that one unfortunatly.....

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎11-04-2011
Posts: 1
Message 25 of 28 (9,832 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

I used to have Verizon Fios Speed in HD was part of the standard HD Lineup

Now (boston) jave to pay extra to get it, and can't get it in HD

 

To me I think Comcast isn't offering Speed in HD is because it is owned by fox, and us the customers suffer

Posted by
Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Member Since: ‎07-19-2007
Posts: 5
Message 26 of 28 (3,364 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

What happened to Speed Channel?  It was the only reason I upgraded my programming!  It just vanished yesterday.

Posted by
Contributor

Member Since: ‎04-10-2007
Posts: 36
Message 27 of 28 (3,361 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

Fox killed off Speed. It is, . . . No More. 

it has now become fox sports.

Posted by
Edited on
‎08-18-2013 08:57 PM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 16,263
Message 28 of 28 (3,357 Views)

Re: Speed Channel

[ Edited ]

In March 2013 Fox, who owned Speed Channel, announced that Speed would cease to exist as a network in August 2013 and that it would be replaced by Fox Sports 1.

 

On August 17th, 2013 that change-over occurred.

 


DonC60 wrote:

I used to have Verizon Fios Speed in HD was part of the standard HD Lineup

Now (boston) jave to pay extra to get it, and can't get it in HD

 

To me I think Comcast isn't offering Speed in HD is because it is owned by fox, and us the customers suffer


 

Comcast and other tv providers have no control over this decision. For those who threaten to switch providers so they can continue to get Speed it will not do any good to switch. You won't find it anywhere.




Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program