Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,429,225

members

25

online now

1,657,467

discussions

Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-15-2011
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 9 (869 Views)

Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

We have lost all channels between 33 and 99. It says 'channel not available'. It happened suddenly and to both TiVo with cable cards, and Comcast digital tuners. We unplugged them to reset - no change. Why might this happen and does anyone have any suggestions?

 

newsfan

8 REPLIES
Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 2 of 9 (868 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

What's the signal strength on the Tivo when your tuned to one of the bad channels?

 

From TiVo Central, select Messages & Settings > Settings > Channels > Signal Strength - Cable

 

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-15-2011
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 9 (866 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

The channels disappeared completely - 'channel not available'. The channels that are working are between 85 and 93 signal strength. I don't think it's a TiVo issue given that the other 2 comcast boxes have lost the same channels.

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎03-02-2007
Posts: 17,031
Message 4 of 9 (856 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

The Tivo has a better signal meter, that's why I asked to look at the Tivo's meter instead.

 

You should just report the signal issue to Comcast and they will need to send out a tech unless it's more widespread upstream into Comcast's RF portion of the plant which the line guys will need to deal with.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-15-2011
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 9 (850 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

Yes, the TiVo signal meter is good. However, for channels where it reads 'channel not available', the meter does not give a signal strength - obviously.  So for this situation it is of no help.

 

We will have to contact Comcast and hope they have some answers.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎08-15-2011
Posts: 1
Message 6 of 9 (826 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

As I was watching cable TV about an hour ago I lost all visual and only have the audio.  Also I cannot even shut the television off.  When I go up or down with the remote I get the next channel but no visual.  I was watching MSNBC on Channel 845 here in Coon Rapids, Minnesota.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎08-14-2006
Posts: 6
Message 7 of 9 (777 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

Maybe God is trying to tell you something about your TV channel preferences. Smiley Happy

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎08-14-2006
Posts: 6
Message 8 of 9 (776 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

Same problem here - Comcast says hackers got into their DNS and messed up HD (not regular TV). They are working to restore it in ONE TO TWO DAYS.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎01-11-2004
Posts: 3
Message 9 of 9 (754 Views)

Re: Lost channels on digital box and TiVo

I am having the same problem!  Thanks for the info bc I was fixing to call them about the problem!