Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,384,883

members

79

online now

1,615,552

discussions

port numbers

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎03-28-2009
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 5 (2,420 Views)

port numbers

hello,

 

i am usually problem free but this one has me snuffled. i have just set up comcast phone after using vonage for most of four years. i can not send or recieve mail. my internet connection ip number reverts to169.xxx.xxx.xxx

i need pop3 port number and smtp port number.

 

someone please help

Fred

4 REPLIES
Posted by
Email Expert

Member Since: ‎03-10-2004
Posts: 6,888
Message 2 of 5 (2,416 Views)

Re: port numbers

Please refer to the e-mail client settings detailed in this post and adjust your settings as necessary.

JR

Posted by
Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎07-02-2003
Posts: 954
Message 3 of 5 (2,409 Views)

Re: port numbers

 


fredabel wrote:

hello,

 

i am usually problem free but this one has me snuffled. i have just set up comcast phone after using vonage for most of four years. i can not send or recieve mail. my internet connection ip number reverts to169.xxx.xxx.xxx

i need pop3 port number and smtp port number.

 

someone please help

Fred


 

Your problem is not with the email function, but rather with the lack of a proper internet connection.

 

Describe your system, modem(s), router, etc, and one of the experts will be able to help you trouble shoot the problem.

 

 

--
Claude
Posted by
Edited on
‎07-26-2010 08:27 AM

Service Expert

Member Since: ‎02-04-2004
Posts: 15,646
Message 4 of 5 (2,377 Views)

Re: port numbers

[ Edited ]

IP addresses that start with 169. indicate you have an invalid IP address. I found this out 2 weeks ago when I was dealing with a router issue.

 

Read THIS ARTICLE:How to change a 169 IP Address, Try the steps to see if you can resolve your issue.

 

Please post back with the results. If it doesn't work, a connection expert can assist you further.

 

 



 


Comcast employees must be authorized to post in the forum in an official capacity. Employees posting here have their names in red and are designated as employees. Names not in red are customers.

This is done to protect customers and for assurance that they are dealing with a Comcast employee.
Non-Authorized Employees are allowed to post but cannot state they are employees nor can they allude to being employees.

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-26-2010 11:17 AM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 49,798
Message 5 of 5 (2,366 Views)

Re: port numbers

[ Edited ]

Reset the modem using the recessed reset button on the rear. You'll need something like a pen or a bent paper clip. Depress and hold the button in until the indicator lights begin to flicker, then release. Any joy now ?

-->