Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5

Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

I have had Comcast Blast internet service since July using the Ubee U10C035 cable modem installed by the Comcast technician.  The speed is great as long as I shut off the modem (unplug it) and let it reset.  After resetting download speeds are up to 25Mbps but very quickly drop to 8 to 10Mbps within a day and under 3Mbps by the next day.  It has become an annoying  daily routine to unplug the modem and let it reset in order to get the speed back up.  This has been going on since day one and is not a new problem.

 

Is there something I can do to fix this with the current modem or is this a known problem with this brand or model?  If I buy a different modem are there any suggestions as to what would be best?

 

Thanks for any help.

 

Mark

Posted by
Official Employee
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Xfinity Approved. We're Official Employees and here to Help!
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

hi Mark, a quick question:

 

Do you use a router?  if so what brand and model number.

 

That particular Ubee is a good modem, we use those a good bit.  Its a Doc 3 so it can handle any speed you put on it.  If you wanted a different modem there are a few good ones to choose from, my personal choice is the Motorola SB6100 series modems, but that is not necessary.

 

It seems like either there is a degraded signal coming in or the modem and other equipment is out of sync or "lagging".  Did you swap out ethernet cords or plug direct in the case of a router?

 

 

 

 

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,927

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

What do your modem's signal stats look like ? Get them here; http://192.168.100.1 admin and cableroot are the username and the password.

Please post the *Downstream Power Level*, the *Upstream Power Level*, and the *SNR* (Signal to Noise Ratio) numbers.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

I connect the modem directly to a Linksys E3000 router with an ethernet cable.

 

 

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Downstream power is 5.55 (There are 4 readings DS-1 to DS-4 and all are between 5 and 5.55).  Upstream power is 46.00 on US-1 and 47.70 on US-4.  I do not see anything labeled Signal to Noise ratio or SNR.  Could it be labled something else?

 

Thanks for everyones interest and help.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,927

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

The power levels at that snapsot in time were fine but do they remain stable when you perceive the issue ?

 

SNR might be expressed as MER.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

MER is 38.  The power levels seem to be stable.  I reset first thing this morning and got 25+Mbps.  When I took these power measurements this afternoon I was getting 12.5Mbps.  Reset again and at 25 Mbps I got essentially the same power readings.

 

It just seems like errors or something accumulates during use that brings the speed down.

 

Thanks

 

Mark

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,927

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Try requesting a swap. You may be able to bring it to your local office and do it there.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 5

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Thanks.  I will contact Comcast for a swap.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,927

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Worth a try ! Hope that's the problem ! Good luck with it ! Smiley Happy

Posted by
Official Employee
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Xfinity Approved. We're Official Employees and here to Help!
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

definitely take your modem and power cord down to your local office and swap it.  just make sure you specify that you are trading a docsis 3.0 modem and you want to get a docsis 3.0 modem.  mistakes have been made in the past with swaps. 

 

 

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,927

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem


damianfleece wrote:
definitely take your modem and power cord down to your local office and swap it.

Darn echos.... 

Posted by
Official Employee
  • Great Job! Your reply has been accepted. Thank you for helping and Congrats on your 1st Solution.
  • Xfinity Approved. We're Official Employees and here to Help!
Member Since: ‎10-29-2011
Posts: 32

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

it wasnt an echo my friend, I was giving him a definite answer.  He can take his modem and power cord to the local office and swap it.

 

and from my experience with the local offices I felt the need to make sure and inform him to tell them it was a Doc 3 and he needed a Doc 3 in return.  I have had many calls where a Doc 3 account was give a Doc 2 modem.  

 

Just trying to make sure he gets taken care of, not compete with you.  Have a nice day EG.

Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 12,285
Posted by
Cable Expert
Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 12,285

Re: Ubee U10C035 Cable Modem

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments