Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,431,528

members

8

online now

1,659,853

discussions

Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

SOLVED
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-11-2011
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 8 (9,676 Views)

Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

I purchased a new modem to replace that leased-modem from comcast.Does it cost any to replace a modem ? (like $25 installation fee) or it doesn't cost anything ? I just need to call comcast to update the MAC number over the phone ? and it is free of charge ?Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION
Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,238
Message 6 of 8 (9,857 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

Correct, no cost to you except for whatever you paid for the modem itself.  When you call Comcast, they will register the modem's MAC address and serial number and you should be good to go.  In some areas you can even do it yourself, just open up your browser and any site you hit will be redirected to the Comcast registration pages.  Note this only works in some areas, for all others, you call.

7 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,384
Message 2 of 8 (9,673 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

Is it just a straight HSI modem or do you have their CDV phone service with a telephony type modem/eMTA ?

Posted by
Edited on
‎07-11-2011 02:47 PM

Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-11-2011
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 8 (9,618 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

[ Edited ]

I bought this new modem from a comcast dealer, I put the model and the link below.

 

ubee™ Data Cable Modem ( Model: U10C018 )

http://comcastspecial.com/

 

You can see the ubee data cable modem picture on that homepage...

 

Thanks

 

 

PS. I only subscribed to an internet service from Comcast, and that modem purchased, I believe, is just going to replace the original comcast modem..

 

Posted by
Cable Expert

Member Since: ‎06-27-2009
Posts: 13,188
Message 4 of 8 (9,611 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

Just hook it up in place of your old modem and give Comcast a call. EG is trying to ask you if you have Comcast Digital Voice - because if you do, it complicates things.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎07-11-2011
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 8 (9,599 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

Thanks.

So it shouldn't cost anything to replace it ? after giving a call ?

I think, Comcast is going to update the MAC number of that new modem ?

Posted by
Networking Expert

Member Since: ‎07-28-2003
Posts: 24,238
Message 6 of 8 (9,858 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

Correct, no cost to you except for whatever you paid for the modem itself.  When you call Comcast, they will register the modem's MAC address and serial number and you should be good to go.  In some areas you can even do it yourself, just open up your browser and any site you hit will be redirected to the Comcast registration pages.  Note this only works in some areas, for all others, you call.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver

Member Since: ‎06-15-2009
Posts: 2,561
Message 7 of 8 (9,377 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

When you take your old Comcast modem in, make sure you get and keep the receipt in a safe place. It has been known for them to carry on charging the rental fee, even though their modem has been returned. Smiley Wink

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎05-05-2012
Posts: 2
Message 8 of 8 (7,350 Views)

Re: Replace Comcast modem (How much does it cost?)

I called Comcast to register my new modem and after spelling out the model number several times, I was put on hold for 20 minutes just to be told that to activate my new modem I had to bring it and my comcast modem to a service center where they would register my new modem and take back theirs. Terrible service!