Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Highlighted
Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8
Accepted Solution

New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

So after spending far longer than I'd like on tech support calls, I finally got the internet working at my new apartment. Problem is, I can only connect one device at a time. If I've got the Xbox on, my laptop can't get internet access, and if the laptop is on the xbox can't get assigned an IP address from the router/modem. The Comcast techs seem to be clueless as to what I'm dealing with. I'm using nearly the same setup as I was using at my parents' house but now it's not working. For some reason. How can I get internet on my laptop and two xboxes at the same time?

 

SB5101 Motorola SurfBoard modem

linksys 5-port ethernet hub

NO wireless capabilities,  everything is through ethernet cables.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

You can't use an ethernet hub or switch with Comcast. They normally only issue one IP address for residential service. You need to use a home networking router instead.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

Ah, but you see, I was with Comcast at the parents' house, using the same setup but with a different modem. Worked beautifully.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

[ Edited ]

Do they pay Comcast for additional IP addresses ? Because that would be the only way it could work... Perhaps the hub was connected to a router or a combo modem / router gateway device and being used as an ethernet port expander ?

 

What is the exact model number of that device ?

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

that is possible. But wouldn't one of the Comcast techs have said something to that effect one of the multiple times I've called them about this?

 

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

to which device are you referring?

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

The Linksys.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

The hub? it's a Fast Ethernet 10/100 network hub, model number NH1005, version 2.0

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

[ Edited ]

Yep. That's a hub. Just checking. Some people mistakenly call hubs and switches routers and vice versa.

 

It won't work connected directly to a cable modem unless you have additional public IP addys from Comcast. Only one LAN client at a time will work.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

so is there any way to bypass this without upgrading my service?

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

As stated, get a router. It will be cheaper in the long run. In some areas Comcast doesn't even issue additional IP's anymore.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

and is there anything special the router needs to be able to do? ....I'm new to the whole networking thing.

Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

No, nothing special. Any ordinary home networking router will do what you need it to do. It's beyond the scope of these forums to give a tutorial on home networking, sorry. Perhaps you could Google for that info.

Posted by
New Visitor
Member Since: ‎02-09-2013
Posts: 8

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

I appreciate your time unbelievably super muchly. Thank you!
Posted by
Connection Expert
Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 46,904

Re: New service, cannot connect more than one device at a time.

Good luck ! Smiley Happy

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments