Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎11-06-2006
Posts: 1

Motorola SB6121 modem

Is anyone using a Motorola SB6121 modem?  I tried to use one but was told Comcast has not authorized it yet?

 

Any experience on how long it takes Comcast to test a new modem? 

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-06-2009
Posts: 4

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

I have 2 chat transcripts that said they could. Bought it and called to provision:

 

call 1 -- oh. ah... let me get my supv. supv disconnected the call

call 2 -- use a paperclip to reset your router... ah... nevermind

call 3 -- we will call you back to provision -- never got the call

 

Returned the SB6121. This is NE FL.

 

A very nice modem design. Problem is provisioning... ah... ah...

 

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,599

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

Don't know how long it takes to test new modems but the link I am attaching is the list of approved modems Comcast uses. Don't know if you have seen it so wanted to share

http://mydeviceinfo.comcast.net/

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-06-2009
Posts: 4

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

Yes... been there... done that... and more.

Posted by
Silver Problem Solver



Member Since: ‎01-11-2010
Posts: 5,599

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

Ok, but I was also wondering if vixsal had tried that.

Posted by
Regular Visitor
Member Since: ‎06-06-2009
Posts: 4

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

ew, what a color scheme on that modem list as of today.

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!



Member Since: ‎07-05-2012
Posts: 1

Re: Motorola SB6121 modem

I just spent over 9 hours over two days and 6 analysts in three departments to finally get my SB6121 working. The final message to me said the modem was not optimized and to chat with another analyst which would not respond. My how support has improved.

Advanced
You must be signed in to add attachments