Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,428,507

members

32

online now

1,656,702

discussions

Losing connection for a few seconds

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-25-2009
Posts: 3
Message 1 of 7 (222 Views)

Losing connection for a few seconds

Well, this has been happening for a few months, but now I feel I am getting annoyed by it. A few times a day, every day, I lose a connection for no more than 5 seconds. I lose the connection on all the computers that are on the internet and our Xbox 360. Can anyone help?
6 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 2 of 7 (221 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

post signals from modem click this link
let start there
Posted by
Edited on
‎01-26-2009 08:50 PM

Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-25-2009
Posts: 3
Message 3 of 7 (215 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

[ Edited ]

C:\Users\Jason>tracert www.comcast.net

Tracing route to a1526.g.akamai.net [96.17.76.25]
over a maximum of 30 hops:

  1    <1 ms    <1 ms    <1 ms  192.168.0.1
  2     *        *        *     Request timed out.
  3     8 ms     7 ms     9 ms  ge-2-2-ur02.wbloomfield.mi.michigan.comcast.net
[68.87.184.121]
  4     9 ms    10 ms     7 ms  te-9-2-ur03.wbloomfield.mi.michigan.comcast.net
[68.87.190.198]
  5     9 ms    10 ms     9 ms  te-9-1-ur02.birmingham.mi.michigan.comcast.net [
68.87.190.202]
  6     9 ms     8 ms     8 ms  te-9-2-ur03.birmingham.mi.michigan.comcast.net [
68.87.190.206]
  7     9 ms     8 ms     9 ms  te-0-1-0-4-ar01.pontiac.mi.michigan.comcast.net
[68.87.190.210]
  8    21 ms    22 ms    23 ms  te-0-4-0-1-cr01.cleveland.oh.ibone.comcast.net [
68.86.90.109]
  9    22 ms    22 ms    22 ms  a96-17-76-25.deploy.akamaitechnologies.com [96.1
7.76.25]

Trace complete.

 

 

Downstream Value Frequency 597000000 Hz  Signal to Noise Ratio 35 dB  QAM QAM256 Network Access Control Object ON Power Level 13 dBmV   The Downstream Power Level reading is a snapshot taken at the time this page was requested. Please Reload/Refresh this Page for a new reading Upstream Value Channel ID 11 Frequency 21000000 Hz Ranging Service ID 7452 Symbol Rate 2.560 Msym/s Power Level 32 dBmV


 

Message Edited by Jason88 on 01-26-2009 05:49 PM
Message Edited by Jason88 on 01-26-2009 05:50 PM
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 4 of 7 (208 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

Your tracert is OK

you have a strong signals.Power Level 13 dBmV

if it goes up more because of the cold it maybe your problem.

if by chance you have a cable line amp ,take it off from them modem for now

Posted by
Visitor
  • The Community would like to Welcome you!

Member Since: ‎01-25-2009
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 7 (206 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

where is the cable line amp, and how do i take it off?
Posted by
Edited on
‎01-26-2009 10:12 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎06-30-2003
Posts: 7,155
Message 6 of 7 (204 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

[ Edited ]

If you have one it will be inside near the main line coming from the pole,plug into a wall outlet

but if you do not know of one you may not have one installed

 

anyway your levels are OK

if you lose connection for longer time or have too many short loss give comcast a call to lower the levels.

 

 

 

Message Edited by Jo on 01-26-2009 10:12 PM
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 50,383
Message 7 of 7 (196 Views)

Re: Losing connection for a few seconds

Maybe the modem's error log will reveal more info ?

 

Could this be a DHCP issue ? A contention issue.. T3/T4 timeouts ?