Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
You can contribute an answer or post a question.
Reply
Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-20-2010
Posts: 3

Keep losing connection

Original connection lasted for a week, then 2 days, now I've lost it 4 times in one day. 

Modem lights all say 'OK' But no internet connection.

Using Motorola SBG6580. 

Typical even log when I lose the connection:

 

Sun Oct 24 21:50:32 2010    Critical (3)   Received Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=00:25:f2:e6:8b:90;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:c9:9d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;   Sun Oct 24 21:50:00 2010    Critical (3)   Started Unicast Maintenance Ranging - No Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=00:25:f2:e6:8b:90;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:c9:9d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;   Sun Oct 24 21:45:10 2010    Critical (3)   No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out    Sun Oct 24 21:45:01 2010    Critical (3)   TFTP failed - Request sent - No Response;CM-MAC=00:25:f2:e6:8b:90;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:c9:9d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;   Sun Oct 24 21:44:10 2010    Critical (3)   Registration RSP rejected message too big ;CM-MAC=00:25:f2:e6:8b:90;CMTS-MAC=00:13:5f:06:c9:9d;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0; 

Downstream SNR 36.7 - 37.1

Power is -12 to -11.8

Upstream power 51.2

All within range, but not great.

Suggestions?

 

Posted by
Connection Expert



Member Since: ‎09-29-2007
Posts: 6,438

Re: Keep losing connection

your signals are marginal and are probably bouncing out of bounds occasionslly which would cause you to lose connectivity.

Can you bypass any splitters and connect the modem directly to the wall jack for test to see if you can get the signal levels into the midband?

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-20-2010
Posts: 3

Re: Keep losing connection

The modem is connected straight to the wall jack. No splitters.

The only splitters installed are the ones that the technician put in when my cable was connected. 

I think the tech also put a splitter on the outside of the house also.

Posted by
Visitor
Member Since: ‎10-20-2010
Posts: 3

Re: Keep losing connection

Ok. I have removed the Motorola modem and I'm working strictly with the Arris modem provided by Comcast.

If this seems to keep a connection, I'll stick with this and get a separate router for  WiFi.

 

Downstream power is at -10, Upstream 48 with Arris modem

SNR is 35