Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,465,671

members

50

online now

1,690,525

discussions

Dual band high speed cable modem

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-14-2012
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 4 (1,418 Views)

Dual band high speed cable modem

I am in the market for an Xfinity compatible dual band high speed cable modem.  Which cable modem would you recommend?

3 REPLIES
Posted by
Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,244
Message 2 of 4 (1,410 Views)

Re: Dual band high speed cable modem

There are no "dual band" straight cable modems. Do you mean a ROUTER ?

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-14-2012
Posts: 2
Message 3 of 4 (1,403 Views)

Re: Dual band high speed cable modem

I currently am renting a DSL modem [Jbee DOM 3513] from Comcast today.  Can I replace that with a dual band router?

Posted by
Edited on
‎03-14-2012 12:27 PM

Connection Expert

Member Since: ‎12-24-2003
Posts: 51,244
Message 4 of 4 (1,394 Views)

Re: Dual band high speed cable modem

[ Edited ]

FWIW, that is a cable (not a DSL) modem. You can use any "dual band" router of your chioce with it but you still need it. You need both devices (modem and router) unless you use one of those combo modem/router gateway devices (I don't recommend those).