Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,499,217

members

33

online now

1,704,568

discussions

Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Posted by
Regular Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-04-2009
Posts: 2
Message 1 of 18 (3,886 Views)

Solution that worked for Norton Problem

I haven't read every post about Norton problems, so I don't know if this has been suggested before, but here's what I did and it worked.  Norton created havoc on my computer.  I couldn't connect to the internet, had to re-boot 3-4 times, End Task feature quit working, etc.  Tried everything in the FAQ and it didn't work. I was ready to pay for McAfee.

 

Then I remembered that when the Comcast Toolbar came out they said to install it for added security.  I wondered if that was creating my problems.  So, I removed the Comcast Toobar and now I have NO problems what-so-ever with Norton.  Wow, I can't believe that such a simple solution fixed the nightmare.  Just wanted to share in case someone else wants to try this.

 

Note:  My daughter never had the toobar installed on her computer and she never had any problems with Norton. 

17 REPLIES
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,182
Message 2 of 18 (3,881 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

netti, thank you so much for sharing that fix with us. 

 

The thought never crossed my mind either, but I'm planning on doing some research on it shortly in hopes that we can find the reason.

 

Thanks again!!

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎11-10-2003
Posts: 5,499
Message 3 of 18 (3,854 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

As others have said in various posts on the Help boards, "Toolbars are evil".

 

I'm going to ask George to communicate this to the folks responsible for the Comcast Toolbar.  Perhaps they can check for possible conflicts between the Toolbar and the new Comcast Norton offering.  Though I would imagine that was done already.

 

And I'll add my own kudo to Netti for sharing this experience.

Posted by
Regular Visitor

Member Since: ‎02-04-2009
Posts: 2
Message 4 of 18 (3,843 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

I should also tell you that I still had the old toolbar, I never installed the new one. 
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎09-25-2003
Posts: 5,342
Message 5 of 18 (3,818 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Good job, Netti. 

 

The Comcast toolbar is a known "good day" destroyer. Seems it also "delights in annoying" the "free from Comcast" Norton Security Suite.


Signature: 127.0.0.1, Sweet 127.0.0.1 and I recommend all of these Anti-malware tools and Procedures. (updated May 2010)





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-14-2007
Posts: 27
Message 6 of 18 (3,809 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Thank you so much for info regarding the comcast toolbar. My norton toolbar has never workedsince I switched to norton. After reading your post I uninstalled comcast toolbar and now it works. What toolbar are you using now that works with norton? I wonder if google toolbar will work with norton.
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,182
Message 7 of 18 (3,804 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Personally, I am not a fan of toolbars, I enable the Menu, Command, Norton and Status Tool bars. I use IE8.

 

I have not heard any complaints about the Google Tool Bar conflicting with Norton.

 

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Highlighted
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎03-01-2007
Posts: 1
Message 8 of 18 (3,802 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

I decided after this experience that I would not be installing any more toolbars.  However, my daughter has the google toolbar and hasn't had any problems with Norton.
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-14-2007
Posts: 27
Message 9 of 18 (3,799 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Smiley HappyThanks so much.
Posted by
Contributor
Member Since: ‎04-14-2007
Posts: 27
Message 10 of 18 (3,798 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Thanks so much...maybe I won't try any toolbar.
Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎03-03-2010
Posts: 7
Message 11 of 18 (3,773 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

I've been having the same issue with locking up when launching IE v7.  While I don't use the Comcast toolbar, I do have Comcast.net set as the home page.  Could the home page setting cause the same issue as the toolbar?  I have noticed that the guest account on my PC has no problems with launching IE v7, but the home page is set for Yahoo.com.

 

Any comments?

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,182
Message 12 of 18 (3,763 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

dramyon - I seriously doubt having Comcast.net set as your home page is causing you problems.  However, you can change your home page to Yahoo.com on the system that you are encountering problems on and see if that corrects it - just to double check. 

 

If it doesn't correct it, I'd double check the IE settings on both accounts.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎11-10-2003
Posts: 5,499
Message 13 of 18 (3,762 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

What you choose to have the browser open when you launch it (the Comcast.net home page, in your case), should have no bearing on the functions of Norton--or any security package.  Well...maybe, if your home page was an infected site, your security would get upset.

 

It's more likely that the guest account has settings that make IE 7 and Norton play nicely together.  What those differences between your main and guest accounts might be are hard to say, but guests are generally more limited in what they can run.

 

Norton should still be running the same way no matter which account, but IE 7 won't necessarily.

 

 

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-07-2003
Posts: 20,976
Message 14 of 18 (3,742 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem


Bartleby wrote:

What you choose to have the browser open when you launch it (the Comcast.net home page, in your case), should have no bearing on the functions of Norton--or any security package.  Well...maybe, if your home page was an infected site, your security would get upset.

 

It's more likely that the guest account has settings that make IE 7 and Norton play nicely together.  What those differences between your main and guest accounts might be are hard to say, but guests are generally more limited in what they can run.

 

Norton should still be running the same way no matter which account, but IE 7 won't necessarily.

 

 


Bartleby, I started reading typing at the same time... Fortunately I got to the part where you said maybe, if your homepage was an infected site and deleted the rest.. as that coincides perfectly with what I was typing anyway...

 

Just a by the way... Unfortunately there really isn't any such thing as a safe site anymore. All of them that use rotating ads can have issues from one day to the next..

TANSTAAFL!!








Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎01-31-2008
Posts: 839
Message 15 of 18 (3,730 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem


CajunTek wrote:

Bartleby wrote:

What you choose to have the browser open when you launch it (the Comcast.net home page, in your case), should have no bearing on the functions of Norton--or any security package.  Well...maybe, if your home page was an infected site, your security would get upset.

 

It's more likely that the guest account has settings that make IE 7 and Norton play nicely together.  What those differences between your main and guest accounts might be are hard to say, but guests are generally more limited in what they can run.

 

Norton should still be running the same way no matter which account, but IE 7 won't necessarily.

 

 


Bartleby, I started reading typing at the same time... Fortunately I got to the part where you said maybe, if your homepage was an infected site and deleted the rest.. as that coincides perfectly with what I was typing anyway...

 

Just a by the way... Unfortunately there really isn't any such thing as a safe site anymore. All of them that use rotating ads can have issues from one day to the next..


 

Excellent CT, and how true.

And to Netti.....When I first came to the Comcast forums, CT and others told me how bad toolbars are, and they are right. I was experiencing all sorts of problems and as soon as I got rid of the Comcast  toolbar, my pc was fine!

If you have any more "valuable" experiences please don't hesitate to post them!

Thank Netti!

SI VIS PACEM PARA BELLUM

Photobucket
Posted by
Service Expert

Member Since: ‎11-10-2003
Posts: 5,499
Message 16 of 18 (3,715 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

Quoting a portion of CajunTek's last reply:

 

"Just a by the way... Unfortunately there really isn't any such thing as a safe site anymore. All of them that use rotating ads can have issues from one day to the next.."

 

All too true, CT.  And something that's certainly been discussed before on these boards (and on this Security one, in particular).

 

Sorry for wandering off-topic from the OPs initial points, and replies related directly to that.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎12-12-2011
Posts: 2
Message 17 of 18 (2,804 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem

i nee fix the computer

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-01-2008
Posts: 390
Message 18 of 18 (2,781 Views)

Re: Solution that worked for Norton Problem


HandTendt3 wrote:

i nee fix the computer

 

HandTendt3, I am no expert, but I know the experts will want more information. For starters: (1)What error messages are you getting? (2)What is your operating system ---XP, Vista, Windows 7 etc.? (3)What problems are you seeing? (4) Do you have problems with your anti-virus?

 

Moreover, you have posted in an old thread about Norton Problems. For best visiblity, I would suggest you start your own thread.

Npersn31