Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,496,783

members

25

online now

1,703,166

discussions

Re: Norton won't open

Posted by
Visitor
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!

Member Since: ‎01-03-2010
Posts: 1
Message 1 of 10 (2,611 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

no norton protection. Please fix>>>

9 REPLIES
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,175
Message 2 of 10 (2,570 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

Hi kkirchoffner,

 

Could you give us some more info in regards to your problem?  Is it installed, just installed, has been woerking and just quit etc.

 

Please also tell us your operating system XP/Vista/Win 7.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-07-2009
Posts: 1
Message 3 of 10 (2,094 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

im having the same problem..after the update my norton wont open..i have no other virus or spyware/security on the comp besides nss

 

 

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,175
Message 4 of 10 (2,090 Views)

Re: Norton won't open


joeandtiffany wrote:

im having the same problem..after the update my norton wont open..i have no other virus or spyware/security on the comp besides nss

 

 


After which update?  Liveupdate, version update or what?

Has NSS been installed and working properly?

 

Please also tell us your operating system XP/Vista/Win 7.

 

 

Please also tell us your operating system XP/Vista/Win 7.

 

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-24-2012
Posts: 3
Message 5 of 10 (2,024 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

I am also having problems....it won't finish loading...I am running Windows 7 64 bit

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,175
Message 6 of 10 (2,021 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

Folks, if you can't supply information we ask for, we can not help you.  We need as much info as you can give us about the siutation you are facing.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-24-2012
Posts: 3
Message 7 of 10 (2,017 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

Okay, I am running Windows 7 64 bit. My Nortons would not come up. I researched it and it told me to uninstall and re install constant guard. I did this using the tool provided. It will let me download Constant Guard but when it becomes time for my computer to reboot it doesn't. I reboot manually and constant guard is trying to finish the install. My mouse Icon just keeps showing it circling and circling...is there more information you need?

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,175
Message 8 of 10 (2,010 Views)

Re: Norton won't open


lebauman wrote:

Okay, I am running Windows 7 64 bit. My Nortons would not come up. I researched it and it told me to uninstall and re install constant guard. I did this using the tool provided. It will let me download Constant Guard but when it becomes time for my computer to reboot it doesn't. I reboot manually and constant guard is trying to finish the install. My mouse Icon just keeps showing it circling and circling...is there more information you need?


Hi lebauman,

 

Thanks for the addtional info.  You mentioned Constant Guard - are you referring to the Constant Guard Protection Suite (CGPS)?  Norton Security Suite (NSS) is a separate program from CGPS.  So we are talking two different programs already - now you see why the more info the better.  Smiley Wink

 

Let's start by looking in Control Panel > Programs & Features and see if CGPS is present - if so, please uninstall it.

 

Now, is your Nortons present ( I am assuming you had it installed prior to installing CGPS) and working?

 

If not let us know if it is still installed or not and we'll go from there.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎04-24-2012
Posts: 3
Message 9 of 10 (1,996 Views)

Re: Norton won't open

Okay, I have uninstalled Constant Guard and looked in my programs. I do not have Norton's installed anymore. Where do I find just Nortons without the Constant Guard program. The link on the Comcast site installs both with Constant Guard being pre-loaded first then it is supposed to reboot and continue the install. Do you need more information?

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,175
Message 10 of 10 (1,992 Views)

Re: Norton won't open


lebauman wrote:

Okay, I have uninstalled Constant Guard and looked in my programs. I do not have Norton's installed anymore. Where do I find just Nortons without the Constant Guard program. The link on the Comcast site installs both with Constant Guard being pre-loaded first then it is supposed to reboot and continue the install. Do you need more information?


OK, here is the link for the Norton Security Suite download.

 

http://xfinity.comcast.net/constantguard/Products/CGPS/norton/

 

When you go to the URL you will see a popup for Constant Guard Protection suite - please click on the No Thanks Button.  This will reveal the Get it Now Button which will begin the download of the NSS program.

 

Once the install is complete,  open NSS and manually Run LiveUpdate (located on drop-down under PC Security on left side of main page of NSS) as many times as necessary for it to respond "no more updates available". If a reboot is requested, reboot and then continue to Run LiveUpdate until it responds "no more updates available" and then reboot one last time.   Please be patient as I have seen this take up to 10 reboots in some cases.

 

Please let us know your progress.

 

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program