members

online now

discussions

Norton Security Activation

SOLVED
Highlighted
Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.
  • Congrats on Posting your first topic!
  • Congratulations on receiving your first Kudos! Thank you for your meaningful contribution to the forum. May this be the first of many kudos.

Message 1 of 19

Lately, a message box pops up when I start my computer asking to "activate" Norton Security Suite, when clicked OK it lead to some kind of software purchase.  I have been using Comcast internet for almost 10 years and download/activated Norton right away as part of the free package. I've never seen this message before being requested to process "Activation" again.  This happened only about 3 weeks ago.

It is suspicious that a purchase is required, so I just closed out from the process, not sure if it is a cyber trap/scam.  I have not received any email from Comcast/Xfinity regarding any activation requirement. I need more information and clarification if this "activation" request is authentic and necessary.  Any feedback is appreciated.

18 REPLIES
Posted by
Problem Solver

Message 2 of 19
Solution

Info for customers receiving cautions that Norton is inactive/cancelled

If you receive a message on your system indicating that your 'service has been cancelled' from Norton Security Suite, this means that your subscription was cancelled due to cancelling your Comcast High Speed Internet subscription.  If you did not cancel your Comcast/Xfinity internet subscription and received this message, then your account was erroniously reported as cancelled.

You can contact Norton support for NSS at Norton.com/comcast, start a chat support session, report the issue.  Please use the CHAT option on the right hand side of the following link.

http://us.norton.com/support/comcast.jsp?pvid=nsce_1&layout=Comcast&product=Norton

Posted by
Security Expert

Message 3 of 19