Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,516,294

members

82

online now

1,716,916

discussions

Back to Top

Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-16-2013
Posts: 204
Message 1 of 6 (4,381 Views)

Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

Is anyone else having a problem running a full system scan? I can do everything else but it "refuses" to do a full scan. I'm hoping this is one of those "try later and it works" things. (like live update sometimes)

5 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎11-29-2013 05:53 PM

Norton Expert

Member Since: ‎11-18-2013
Posts: 1,063
Message 2 of 6 (4,373 Views)

Re: Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

[ Edited ]

Hello ,

 

Sorry! Which version of Norton & Operating System do you use? Are you getting any error messages? Are you able to run a Quick Scan?


In meantime, please try to run a scan with Norton Power Eraser:

http://www.norton.com/npe

 

Let me know how it goes.

 

Thanks!

Harry

Norton Support

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-16-2013
Posts: 204
Message 3 of 6 (4,325 Views)

Re: Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan


NortonSupport wrote:

Hello ,

 

Sorry! Which version of Norton & Operating System do you use? Are you getting any error messages? Are you able to run a Quick Scan?


In meantime, please try to run a scan with Norton Power Eraser:

http://www.norton.com/npe

 

Let me know how it goes.

 

Thanks!

Harry

Norton Support


Thanks for the reply. I gave it some time and kept trying. It eventually worked. Now for some reason I can't get a critical update to work this morning, but as is usually the case it probably will if I keep trying that too! Thanks again.

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,212
Message 4 of 6 (4,314 Views)

Re: Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

Hi ngs4509,

 

There has been reports for the past week of updates failing and you are correct in that it usually straightens itself out on it's own.  I have seen it numerous times in the past, but it has really been noticeable this past week or so. 

 

This update situation should not have anything to do with the Full System Scan.  Answers to Harry's questions may be useful in finding the cause in the future if it occurs again - to you or someone else.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Edited on
‎12-02-2013 01:18 PM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-16-2013
Posts: 204
Message 5 of 6 (4,275 Views)

Re: Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

[ Edited ]

Thanks for the reply. It's funny, that Full System Scan eventually worked after a few tries..and that's always been the case when that happens, I just go back occasionally and try again. But just now, AGAIN, I get an Error 8920,233 that won't allow me to download Security Updates. I hope they're aware of this and are working on it. I don't like to do anything online unless I'm as current as possible "security-wise". (I realize those are two different things, but they seem to be happening a lot lately) Anyway, thanks again.

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,212
Message 6 of 6 (4,262 Views)

Re: Norton - Can't Run Full System Scan

Please see my reply here:  http://forums.comcast.com/t5/Security-and-Anti-Virus/Error-8920-233-Can-t-Load-Security-Updates-AGAI...  in regards to Error 8920,233!

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program