Welcome to Comcast Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

5,495,991

members

60

online now

1,702,700

discussions

I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

Posted by
Edited on
‎01-31-2012 02:53 PM

Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-14-2011
Posts: 187
Message 1 of 20 (2,521 Views)

I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

[ Edited ]

No matter how many times I tried running LiveUpdate on Comcast Norton Security Suite, I can't update it to Version 5.2!  I've tried that 10 times, but still no update!  I followed the link here, but no success in running LiveUpdate!  Can someone tell me what's wrong with Comcast Norton Security Suite?!  I have Version 5.1.  Woman Sad

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Product-Update-5-2-0-13-for-Norton-360-version-5-January-3...

19 REPLIES
Posted by
Edited on
‎01-31-2012 05:17 PM

Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-31-2012
Posts: 13
Message 2 of 20 (2,494 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

[ Edited ]

I seem to be having the same problem as you, no matter how many time i run live upade my version does not change. I have version 5.1.0.29

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-01-2008
Posts: 390
Message 3 of 20 (2,479 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


angeldeb82 wrote:

No matter how many times I tried running LiveUpdate on Comcast Norton Security Suite, I can't update it to Version 5.2!  I've tried that 10 times, but still no update!  I followed the link here, but no success in running LiveUpdate!  Can someone tell me what's wrong with Comcast Norton Security Suite?!  I have Version 5.1.  Woman Sad

 

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Product-Update-5-2-0-13-for-Norton-360-version-5-January-3...

 

angeldeb82, do you have version 5.1.0.29? That is the current version of Comcast Norton, I believe.

I will have an expert look at this thread and reply. The version I mentioned is the one I have. Comcast Norton usually trails Norton in updates.


 

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 4 of 20 (2,478 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

Hi everyone,

 

Latest word I have received from Norton employees is that the 5.2 update for Norton Security Suite is not released yet, but they will let me know (so I can pass the word on here) as soon as it is posted for download.

 

There was no reason given, but I do know that the commercial customers, always get the updates and the upgrades ahead of Comcast Norton Security Suite.

 

FWIW, I am in the same boat as everyone else in regards to not receiving 5.2 yet.

 

Please be advised that we have found with all the FF updates recently the Norton Toolbar updates and functions better if you update Norton (in this case to 5.2) prior to upgrading FF.  Those who can;t wait to update FF to 10 may experience some problems by updating it first - but let us know and we'll get you fixed up once the dust clears.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎01-01-2008
Posts: 390
Message 5 of 20 (2,476 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


maggiew3187 wrote:

I seem to be having the same problem as you, no matter how many time i run live upade my version does not change. I have version 5.1.0.29

 

maggiew3187, I am no expert but I do use Comcast Norton. The version you have is the one I have. Comcast Norton is usually a little behind Norton in the updates. I will have an expert reply.

Npersn31


 

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-29-2007
Posts: 2
Message 6 of 20 (2,461 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

I can't upgrade to comcast Norton Security Suite either.  How do I contact comcast support?

I keep going in circles trying all the help lines.

Posted by
Visitor
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎10-29-2007
Posts: 2
Message 7 of 20 (2,459 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

I keep getting the message that I only have 511 of memory and I need 512 to install. I've tried deleting

everything I can think of but still no change.

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 8 of 20 (2,453 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


roses4u wrote:

I can't upgrade to comcast Norton Security Suite either.  How do I contact comcast support?

I keep going in circles trying all the help lines.


Go here and lcick on Chat

http://us.norton.com/support/comcast.jsp?pvid=nsce_1&entsrc=Comcast


 

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎11-01-2005
Posts: 3,046
Message 9 of 20 (2,448 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


roses4u wrote:

I keep getting the message that I only have 511 of memory and I need 512 to install. I've tried deleting

everything I can think of but still no change.


You will need to install more ram. There is nothing you can remove that will increase it.



"Once I talked to the inmates of an insane asylum in Hartford. I have talked to idiots a thousand times, but only once to the insane..."
Mark Twain



Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-31-2012
Posts: 13
Message 10 of 20 (2,444 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

I really mostly just want mine to update so that i can get my Norton toolbar back because this says

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Firefox-10-Support-for-Norton-Toolbar/td-p/648245

That you need version version 5.2

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 11 of 20 (2,406 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


maggiew3187 wrote:

I really mostly just want mine to update so that i can get my Norton toolbar back because this says

http://community.norton.com/t5/Norton-360/Firefox-10-Support-for-Norton-Toolbar/td-p/648245

That you need version version 5.2


I am having no problems what-so-ever running FF9.01 or IE9 with the current version of NSS.  I know it goes against some peoples grain, but if you wait until NSS is updated to 5.2 and then update FF to 10, you'll  have the Norton Toolbar the entire time.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-31-2012
Posts: 13
Message 12 of 20 (2,364 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

Yeah but i already updated to firefox 10 and My norton is still not updating to 5.2 so i still can't get my toolbar back yet.

Posted by
Edited on
‎02-01-2012 03:53 PM

Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 13 of 20 (2,357 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

[ Edited ]

maggiew3187 wrote:

Yeah but i already updated to firefox 10 and My norton is still not updating to 5.2 so i still can't get my toolbar back yet.


Here is a download for FF 9.0.1 - you should be able to uininstall FF 10, and install 9.0.1 and get the NTB back.

 

http://www.top10download.com/firefox-9-0

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Frequent Visitor

Member Since: ‎01-31-2012
Posts: 13
Message 14 of 20 (2,349 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

Where is the download, i don't see it posted?

Posted by
Edited on
‎02-01-2012 03:55 PM

Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 15 of 20 (2,337 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

[ Edited ]

maggiew3187 wrote:

Where is the download, i don't see it posted?


Sorry, I forgot the link.  I posted it in my post above to keep it all together.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-14-2011
Posts: 187
Message 16 of 20 (2,310 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

So far, I'm holding back on the upgrade to Firefox 10.  Any news on when NSS will arrive? 

Posted by
Security Expert

Member Since: ‎10-28-2003
Posts: 6,174
Message 17 of 20 (2,256 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2


angeldeb82 wrote:

So far, I'm holding back on the upgrade to Firefox 10.  Any news on when NSS will arrive? 


I'm holding back also on the system I am running NSS on.

 

The update hs not been released yet. You can verify this by running a Manual LiveUpdate until it says a Product Update has been insatlled and a reboot is required.

A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard, or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his or her life, wrote a blank check made payable to The 'United States of America', for an amount of 'up to and including my life.'





Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Was your question answered? Mark it as an accepted solution!solution Icon
Did this post help? Why not give it a kudo!!!Kudos Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you! I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.To learn more about XFINITY Forum Expert program click here.
Community Icon
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. Expert Program
Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-14-2011
Posts: 187
Message 18 of 20 (1,826 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

Well, It's been about a week, and still no update from Comcast on NSS v. 5.2.  But I'm still waiting for the update and STILL using Firefox 9.0.1.  I'm longing for good news.

Posted by
Frequent Visitor
  • You have posted 10 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • You have posted 5 replies to the community. Thank you for keeping the conversations going!
  • Thank you contributor for your first reply to the community!
 Posting replies is the best way to get involved.

Member Since: ‎02-07-2012
Posts: 11
Message 19 of 20 (1,790 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

The NORTON update to 5.2 is NOW AVAILABLE.

Please run live update and you will get the update.  You have to restart twice; or at least that was my case!!!

Posted by
Regular Contributor

Member Since: ‎10-14-2011
Posts: 187
Message 20 of 20 (1,785 Views)

Re: I can't upgrade to Comcast Norton Security Suite v. 5.2

So I was able to run LiveUpdate twice.  After each restart, it only took a few minutes for the Norton icon to appear with a green check mark, because the startup was a bit slower than usual, but overall, it was worth it to upgrade Firefox to Version 10 again.  Woman Happy