Welcome to Xfinity Help & Support Forums
Find solutions, share knowledge, and get answers from customers and experts

New to the Community? Start here.

members

topics

This is the VPN filter malware threat "MEGA-THREAD".

ANSWERED
Connection Expert

Re: Checking current Firmware (if necessary)

AFAIK, not yet.

Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee, I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help. For information on the program click here.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit from the conversation.
Was your question answered? Mark a Best Answer!solution Icon
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee. I am a paying customer just like you!
I am an XFINITY Forum Expert and I am here to help.
We ask that you post publicly so people with similar questions may benefit.
Community Icon
I am not a Comcast employee.

Was your question answered?
Mark an Answer!solution Icon

New Poster

Here’s what I received via the @ComcastCares Twitter DM:

“The vast majority of Comcast-provided gateways and modems were not impacted by the 'VPNFilter' malware. For the very small number of Comcast-issued devices that may be affected, we are in the process of proactively communicating with those customers and exchanging hardware where needed. -DL“
Frequent Visitor

VPNFilter

I have read the boards that relate to VPNFilter. i see very little, if any, responses to questions regarding the malware and Comcast routers. What good are the "communities if Comcast nevers answers questions?

Frequent Visitor

Re: This is the VPN filter malware threat "MEGA-THREAD".

Except for a few "Expert" comments I have not seen any response from Comcast on this matter

Problem Solver

I don't expect any definitive statement from Comcast is forthcoming, for the simple reason that more information is being uncovered about VPNFilter as we speak.

The latest from Cisco's Talos Intelligence group: